First Couple of Weeks Wrapped Up

I spent the last five or six days before heading on my North Florida adventure at Snook Island, Boynton Beach Inlet, STA 1 East, Wakodahatchee Wetlands and Green Cay.   Lots of good birding with a few pretty nice surprises.

(Click on the picture for a larger size)

Common Loon ... This guy was visable for like 10 seconds and then he dove ... never to be seen again.

Common Loon … This guy was visable for like 10 seconds and then he dove … never to be seen again.

Bonaparte's Gull ... One of the more unuasual Gulls we sometimes get at the Inlet.

Bonaparte’s Gull … One of the more unusual Gulls we sometimes get at the Inlet.

On the 8th I visited both Snook Island and Boynton Beach Inlet.  The weather was not very conducive to birding with heavy clouds and quite a bit of wind.  I did manage to pick up the above Loon and also 5 species of Gull including a Bonaparte’s Gull that landed on the North jetty.  Just like the Loon it was a very brief appearance but sufficient for a picture or two.  I managed to get much better pictures of all the species photographed that day … coming soon with my North Florida commentary.

Painted Bunting ... Green Cay on 1-9-15

Painted Bunting … Green Cay on 1-9-15

Purple Swamphen ... 1-9-15 at Green Cay Wetlands

Purple Swamphen … 1-9-15 at Green Cay Wetlands

The 9th was spent at Green Cay Wetlands trying to photograph some of the species I missed so far.  It is funny that some of the species I see like 90% of the time I’ll miss for 3-4 visits when I want to photograph them!

Northern Shoveler ... She flew in while I was waiting for the Yellow-headed Blackbird and took a bath ... Wakodahatchee Wetlands 1-10-15

Northern Shoveler … She flew in while I was waiting for the Yellow-headed Blackbird and took a bath … Wakodahatchee Wetlands 1-10-15

I visited Wakodahatchee Wetlands on the 10th seeing 52 species and enjoying a beautiful cool, sunny January day in South Florida.

Feeding Frenzy at Storm Water Treatment Area 1 East ... This is only about a thrid of the entire group but all I could fit into the lens I was using.

Feeding Frenzy at Storm Water Treatment Area 1 East … This is only about a third of the entire group but all I could fit into the lens I was using.

I took the 11th off and then took a nice 12 mile bike ride around STA 1 East on the 12th.  I had planned to head up North that day but the forecast was for terrible weather up North so I postponed it for a couple of days since I had the whole week off.

Gull-billed Tern ... STA 1 East on the 12th of January

Gull-billed Tern … STA 1 East on the 12th of January

I’m really glad I delayed as I was able to pick up a few nice species that I wouldn’t see the rest of the month including Gull-billed Tern and Stilt Sandpipers.  I saw 56 species and also got in a good bike ride!

Ring-billed Gull ... Green Cay Wetlands 1-13-15

Ring-billed Gull … Green Cay Wetlands 1-13-15

My last day before I ventured North I went to GC and Wako and while I didn’t pick up anything super exciting Cheryl had come down for the day so Linda, Richard, Cheryl and I had a wonderful 3-4 hours of birding together.  I did like the picture of the young Ring-billed Gull I managed at Green Cay.  I usually don’t like back-lit subjects but I thought this one was pretty cool.

Thank you all so much for visiting and my next few posts will be my wonderful trip to Northern Florida.  As always God Bless.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Couple of Weeks Wrapped Up

  1. Pat Hatch says:

    Love your pics! I’m in Palm City and wondering if you ever come up here and if so where?

Leave a Reply

