First Week = A Multitude of New Species

As I mentioned in the last post I wasn’t able to get time off until the 2nd week of January so I spent the first week photographing species around my local area.  I went to Wakodahatchee Wetlands, Green Cay Wetlands and around my home turf.  I managed to find a few very nice birds and spend some quality time with my local group.

Pied-billed Grebe ... That is one nasty looking fish but he did manage to get it down.  1/2/15 Wakodahatchee Wetlands.

Pied-billed Grebe … That is one nasty looking fish but he did manage to get it down. 1/2/15 Wakodahatchee Wetlands.

I visited Wakodahatchee on the 2nd … mainly looking for the Yellow-headed Blackbird that has been Wintering there.  I never did manage to see him until almost the end of the month and even then it was a shot of it flying away from me!

Northern Harrier ... She has been an annual visitor to the wetlands for quite a few years but is a little more irregular this year so I was happy to capture a nice shot early in the month. 1/3/15  Green Cay Wetlands

Northern Harrier … She has been an annual visitor to the wetlands for quite a few years but is a little more irregular this year so I was happy to capture a nice shot early in the month. 1/3/15 Green Cay Wetlands

Blue Headed Vireo ... 1/3/15  Green Cay Wetlands

Blue Headed Vireo … 1/3/15 Green Cay Wetlands

The next day I visited Green Cay and saw quite a few species and was able to get a few nice shots.

Short-tailed Hawk ... Probably my best find for the first week. I only see these guys about 1 out of every 30 trips I take birding and this was also a new bird for my yard list.  1/4/15 Huntington Lakes

Short-tailed Hawk … Probably my best find for the first week. I only see these guys about 1 out of every 30 trips I take birding and this was also a new bird for my yard list. 1/4/15 Huntington Lakes

I stayed close to home on the 4th riding my bike around our large community.  The golf course that sits behind our building closed down 6 months ago.   They are still mowing the grass and it essentially has become a large park … which equals lots of birds!

American Bittern ... One of my nemesis birds for good in-flight shots.  I liked this one that was taken with really nice morning light! 1/3/15  Green Cay Wetlands

American Bittern … One of my nemesis birds for good in-flight shots. I liked this one that was taken with really nice morning light! 1/3/15 Green Cay Wetlands

I went back to Green Cay on the 5th and once again saw over 50 species.  Green Cay is a special place that truly allows you to get close to many species.  The birds have become acclimated to the walkers that they mostly ignore the birders and photographers.  Many of the best pictures I get are from here.

I’ll post a few more pictures from the first week tomorrow … hopefully.  Thanks for stopping by and as always God Bless!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

