January Wrapup

To bird or to blog, that is the question.   Obviously from my lack of blog entries birding one out big-time in January.  For the last 5 years I’ve made a trip to the Northern part of the State at the beginning of every year and this year I once again headed North to get many of the bird species we just don’t see in Southern Florida.

American Crow ... These guys are not seen in Palm Beach County so I always like to get a shot or two of them while in Everglades NP.

American Crow … These guys are not seen in Palm Beach County so I always like to get a shot or two of them while in Everglades NP.

I couldn’t get off work until the 12th so I did quite a bit of birding around home including starting the year in Everglades National Park on New Years Day with my good friend Cheryl.  Everglades NP is always a birdie place and we thought we could get quite a few species by starting there for the year.

White Pelicans ... Always cool to see these giants!

American White Pelicans … Always cool to see these giants!

For those of you who are not hard-core birders I’d like to explain something about Jan 1st.  Jan 1st is one of most birders favorite days because every bird species you see is a new one for the year.  Everyone’s year list resets to zero at Midnight so everyone starts with the exact same count and most birders have some sort of goal for the year wether it be adding birds to their “life list” or just seeing more birds in their local patch.  Some will be doing “Big Years” in their Counties, State or in extreme instances the entire ABA area!

Savannah Sparrow  ... Such a wonderful background for this little guy!

Savannah Sparrow … Such a wonderful background for this little guy!

I only have a few mini goals this year.  One is to add some of the regular Florida species that I have somehow missed … such as Mississippi Kite etc.  I also wanted to see how many species I could photograph in January.  I plan on birding fairly regularly (not super hard-core) this year with one fantastic trip thrown in the mix.  In May I have the pleasure of going to Ohio with three lovely ladies … Linda, Ruth and Cheryl.  It should be an awesome trip!

Prarie Warbler ... Not the sharpest shot but I thought it was pretty cool with the spider web!

Prairie Warbler … Not the sharpest shot but I thought it was pretty cool with the spider web!

In the next coming weeks I’ll go over all my birding adventures from January.  I’ll be birding much less in February and early March (back to the gym) so I’ll have a little more time to blog and will be mostly only birding my days off.

Yellow-crowned Night Heron ... All the pics above were taken January 1st in Everglades NP.  If you click on any picture it will make it bigger and sharper.

Yellow-crowned Night Heron … All the pics above were taken January 1st in Everglades NP. If you click on any picture it will make it bigger and sharper.

I hope I still have a few people interested in the blog and I do promise to try to be more consistent!  Thank for following and God Bless.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

