Wakadohatchee and Green Cay Wetlands

I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before but I’d like to say it again … I’m so spoiled having so many great birding locations within a couple of miles of the house.  I have been sticking around GC and Wako and probably will until the New Year.  I’ve been able to get a little every day and the weather has been fantastic and the birding interesting enough to keep me coming back.

(Clicking on any picture will make it bigger with much more detail)

Great Blue Heron with a Banded Water Snake ... or breakfast as the case may be!

Great Blue Heron with a Banded Water Snake … or breakfast as the case may be!

The last couple of days GC has hosted a very large feeding flock of Wood Storks, Great and Snowy Egrets, Tri-color and Great Blue Herons as well as 4 Roseate Spoonbills … always one of the photographers favorites.

Roseate Spoonbill

Roseate Spoonbill

A really cooperative Swamp Sparrow has also been seen at GC the last two days.  This is a species we just don’t see much here so it always a nice addition to the daily list of species seen.

Swamp Sparrow

Swamp Sparrow

Finally I spent a couple of mornings and a couple of afternoons looking for the Yellow-headed Blackbird who has relocated to Wako after a couple of weeks at GC.  Wednesday Terri and I stopped about 3:30 PM and after an hour or so he finally put in a 5 minute appearance.

Yellow-headed Blackbird

Yellow-headed Blackbird

This is definitely my favorite time of year in South Florida and I hope these pictures can bring a little sunshine to your life if you are stuck in the cold and gray!  Thanks for stopping by and God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wakadohatchee and Green Cay Wetlands

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    I sure am glad you’re “spoiled” with this abundance of wildlife, because your ability to capture great photos and share them is a true delight.

  2. I’ve never seen a Yellow-headed Blackbird – who knew!?? Terrific post!

Leave a Reply

