This Weeks Photo’s

I had a very busy week and only managed a little birding.  I helped my Parents move and was very happy to see there are Ringed-necked Ducks on the lake behind their new place. I haven’t taken any pictures yet but it looks like it will be a good setup for really nice pictures of that species.  Here are a few pictures I did manage this week … hope you enjoy them!

Roseate Spoonbill ... This guy was so close to the boardwalk that if you didn't know it was there you would walk right by it!

Roseate Spoonbill … This guy was so close to the boardwalk that if you didn’t know it was there you would walk right by it!

Pied-billed Grebe ... It always amazes me when they manage to swallow what seems like over-sized food!

Pied-billed Grebe … It always amazes me when they manage to swallow what seems like over-sized food!

Purple Swamphen ... This is one of this years babies.  It is just completed the molt into its adult plumage.

Purple Swamphen … This is one of this years babies. It is just completed the molt into its adult plumage.

Killdeer ...

Killdeer … One of the very few birds I managed to photograph at Loxahatchee NWR this morning.

Savannah Sparrow ... I was very happy to get this guy this morning.  Sparrows are notoriously difficult to photograph and he actually stood still for more than one of two frames!

Savannah Sparrow … I was very happy to get this guy this morning.  Sparrows are notoriously difficult to photograph and he actually stood still for more than one of two frames!

I have a nice three-day weekend next Tuesday-Thursday and I think the weather may even cooperate so hopefully I’ll have more blog material.  Thanks for following and God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

