Another Wonderful Weather Weekend!

I had another fabulous weekend with no rain and some nice sightings.  I visited Green Cay Wetlands a couple of times and both Snook Island and the Boynton Beach Inlet yesterday.  There were no super new finds over the weekend but a nice assortment of birds I don’t see that often.

Marsh Wren ... FOS (first of the season)

Marsh Wren … FOS (first of the season)

Linda and I have heard a couple of Wrens the last week but this guy was the first I managed to get a picture of.  They are quite shy and don’t always sit up as well as this one did.  We also saw the Yellow-headed Blackbird which was Linda’s 197th species for Green Cay … incredible!!

Yellow-headed Blackbird

Yellow-headed Blackbird with his cousin the Red-winged Blackbird

I also had my FOS Blue-headed Vireo and he had the good fortune of catching a Cicada which he chose to eat right in front of us!

Blue-headed Vireo with his breakfast!

Blue-headed Vireo with his breakfast!

I went to Snook Island yesterday hoping to see or hear the Clapper Rails that have been seen there recently and while I “think” I might have heard them I won’t be counting it  … just yet!  I did have a nice selection of shorebirds including a banded Piping Plover.  There are usually, and were 6-12 Semi-palmated Plovers around but this is only the second time I’ve had this species at this location.

Piping Plover

Piping Plover

After Snook Island I headed over to the Boynton Beach Inlet.  I had one Northern Gannet amoungst the normal Gulls and Terns.  There were also three or four Magnificent Frigatebirds around which were new for me since the beginning of the year.

Magnificent Frigatebird

Magnificent Frigatebird

The thing with being out in nature is you never know what you are going to see.  There was a young man on a Jet Ski doing some incredible stunts in the surf here is one example … a back flip!

Amazing

Amazing!

Defying gravity!

Defying gravity!

Almost down!

Almost down!

Ready for anothe run!

Ready for another run!

This was one of many tricks he was doing including side rolls and surfing the tops of some of the waves.

My beautiful wife Terri and I went to Green Cay in the afternoon and while we didn’t see that much we did manage a couple of nice pictures, her more than me but I did like this Pied-billed Grebe I got in amazing light.

Pied-billed Grebe

Pied-billed Grebe

Thanks for stopping by and God Bless!!!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

