Species Highlight …Black Hooded Parakeets

Black-hooded Parakeet ... An appropritley named species!

Black-hooded Parakeet … An appropriately named species!

Black-hooded Parakeets … Nandayus nenday  also known as Nanaday Parakeets are becoming quite numerous in the Palm Beach County area.  I hear them 75% of the time I’m out driving around and have now seen them at over half a dozen different sites that I bird.

This pair were right in my back yard!

This pair was right in my back yard!

The first Nanaday’s I ever encountered were down in Broward County at the Bass Pro shops.  Since that time their population has exploded.

Proof of why the population is growing!

Proof of why the population is growing! Loxahatchee NWR.

I’ve seen these guys everywhere from the beach to as far West as Loxahatchee NWR.  They were only recently … last year … added to the American Birding Associations list of countable species.

Boynton Beach Inlet has a large population that will feed on the Cabbage Palms when the fruit is ripe.  The day I took this there was 25-30 feasting on the berries.

Boynton Beach Inlet has a large population that will feed on the Cabbage Palms when the fruit is ripe. The day I took this there was 25-30 feasting on the berries.

This guy was out at the West Delray Park  at the end of Atlantic.

This guy was out at the West Delray Park at the end of Atlantic.

This post was motivated by an experience I had about a month ago.  I was out riding my bike looking for Fall migrants and I remembered reading on E-bird about a group of Black-hooded Parakeets being seen in the new plaza on the corner of Atlantic and Lyons in West Delray.

I had what could be described as about a perfect hour of shooting a group of 15-20 birds feeding in 10-15 foot trees in perfect light.  The following is just a small sample of the hundreds of shots I took that magical day!

(Clicking on any picture in the blog will make it larger and clearer)

BLACK-HOODED-PARAKEET-9-15-

BLACK-HOODED-PARAKEET-9-15- (3)

BLACK-HOODED-PARAKEET-9-15- (2)

This is one of my favorites.  I just love the amazing feathers on his back!

This is one of my favorites. I just love the amazing feathers on his back!

These guys are truly photogenic and with the rapid increase in their population a pretty easy species to find in South Florida.  I hope you enjoyed these guys as much as I do.  Thanks for stopping by and God Bless!!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Species Highlight …Black Hooded Parakeets

  1. raisinemreal says:

    My five year old loves birds I can’t wait to show her this. I used to live in Ft. Lauderdale and never took advantage of watching the beautiful birds in the area.

  2. Bill Kominsky says:

    If there is anyone who can find them or any species it’s you, great work.

  3. I LOVE these parakeets! One Christmas Eve, here in Ft. Lauderdale, they hung upside down from a tree in my backyard and it looked like they were Christmas ornaments from nature!

Leave a Reply

