Wow … Wonderful Week of Weather !!

South Florida experienced our first cold/cool front starting last Wednesday the 15th and the skies have been pretty much been crystal clear since.  The cooler air has been somewhat drier so the lower humidity in the air has allowed for near perfect photography conditions.

Eatern Wood Pewee ... When I say I got that RIGHT after it stopped raining I wasn't kiddin!

Eastern Wood Pewee … When I say I got to Green Cay RIGHT after it stopped raining I wasn’t kiddin!

The cold front came through with some nice thunderstorms in the early afternoon and Linda and I both had the idea that it might drop a few migrants.  We had both been there in the morning and there wasn’t much around so when I got to the parking lot and saw birds everywhere I called her and said to hurry over.

Baltimore Oriole

Baltimore Oriole

Summer Tanager ... There were 3-4 of these guys in the parking lot.

Summer Tanager … There were 3-4 of these guys in the parking lot.

Besides the above we also had the first of the season Pine Warblers mixed in with the Palms, Praires, Parulas and Black and White Warblers!

The next day I decided to try Loxahatchee NWR since it was in the mid 60’s when I got up.  I rode the bike about 7 miles and the best birds were in the last 10-15 minutes I was there.  I had a couple of Raptors circling about and with the clear blue skies I was able to get some OK captures of a Broad-winged and a Short-tailed Hawk.

Short-tailed Hawk

Short-tailed Hawk

Broad-winged Hawk ... One of favorite ID points to help with Broad-wings is the fact that they generally only show 4 fingers at the end of the wings.  Compare to the Short-tailed who shows 5 fingers like pretty much all other Raptors.

Broad-winged Hawk … One of favorite ID points to help with Broad-wings is the fact that they generally only show 4 fingers at the end of the wings. Compare to the Short-tailed who shows 5 fingers like pretty much all other Raptors.

The Short-tailed also briefly landed.  This is only the second time I’ve ever seen one of these beauties in a tree and I only wish the lighting conditions would have allowed for better images.

Short-tailed Hawk

Short-tailed Hawk

I spent yesterday shooting around the house.  Sundays at Green Cay Wetlands can have so many walkers that it becomes frustrating and I thought why get mad when I  have 100’s of acres right behind my house!  The golf course that we live on is currently not being maintained so the birds are loving it and I had a wonderful hour and a half completely by myself with no one power-walking by shaking the boardwalk.

Egyptian Goose ... These guys are now ABA countable and it's nice having a couple of families right in the back yard.

Egyptian Goose … These guys are now ABA countable and it’s nice having a couple of families right in the back yard.

We generally have an American Kestrel that spends the Winter on the golf course and Terri and I had seen one about a week ago.  Yesterday while riding around I saw one then two and eventually 4-5 of them flying around chasing breakfast.  They may be migrants just moving through because they were together and not really chasing each other over territories like they normally would.

American Kestrel

American Kestrel

Loggerhead Shrike ... Just cause he such a cool little bird!!

Loggerhead Shrike … Just cause he such a cool little bird!!

Another cool sighting at GC, at least to me was this Anhinga flying with a root in his mouth … not sure if he was going to make a healthy smoothie or he thought it would make good nesting material !!

Anhinga

Anhinga

The best thing that the cool weather brought out was my beautiful wife … she does not do well in the heat and I was so happy to see her back in the field.  She takes some amazing pictures and often sees things that the rest of us miss!

Terri ... Checking out her settings as I was checking her out!!

Terri … Checking out her settings as I was checking her out!!

Thank you so much for stopping by and God Bless!!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wow … Wonderful Week of Weather !!

  1. What a wonderful post! Thank you for sharing.

  2. I love your birds pic!

  3. Titilayo says:

    You have such inspiring scenery and posts. Thanks for sharing

  4. gracejkaren says:

    beautiful, I loved it

Leave a Reply

