Big Photographic Day … 9-30-14

Peregrine Falcon ... My new lens has not recieved rave reviews for it's in flight capabilities but if I can get more like this I'll never complain!

Peregrine Falcon … My new lens has not received rave reviews for its in flight capabilities but if I can get more like this I’ll never complain!

Yesterday I decided to see how many different species of birds I could photograph in one day in Palm Beach County.  I hadn’t done a really long day of birding in a while and I was motivated to get out and try my new lens in a real world situation.  I’ve done a couple of “Big Days” before but never one where I decided to only count species that I captured on disk .  I’ve been reading quite a bit about Photo Big Days on the ABA web site and I decided why not!

Wood Duck ... Not a species I had expected to see!

Wood Duck … Not a species I had expected to see!

I started my day bright and early out at STA 1 East just west of Wellington.  I rode my bike on a 12 mile loop and was stoked to see some really nice species including the above Wood Ducks. I had one very obliging Peregrine Falcon, of which I saw 4-5 on the day. I was happy to pick up my FOS (first of the season) Palm Warbler.   Snail Kite, Roseate Spoonbill, Black Skimmer, Black-necked Stilts and all/most of the regular waders were all also picked up at STA 1.

Peregrine Falcon ... I told you he was very obliging!

Peregrine Falcon … I told you he was very obliging!

I left STA 1 and headed further West stopping along State Road 880 where I found a flooded sod farm that contained both Greater and Lesser Yellowlegs, Killdeer and Pectoral Sandpipers.  I also photographed an Eastern Meadowlark and a Caspian Tern near by.  I wish I had another lens to give you a feel of just how many Yellowlegs were in this field … a rough guess would be 600-700!

Greater Yellowlegs

Greater Yellowlegs

Pectoral Sandpiper

Pectoral Sandpiper

I next left for Browns Farm Road and was happy to see a couple of more nice species including my FOS Northern Harriers, Barn Owls, a Merlin, White Pelicans and coolest of all 1,000’s of Bobolinks.  The Bobolinks were constantly moving about as the Harriers and a Peregrine swooped down on them. The following pictures are just a very, very small sampling of the multiple large flocks.

Bobolinks and a Red-winged Blackbird

Bobolinks and a Red-winged Blackbird

Bobolinks ... A little closer look ... I was happy the new lens could produce a shot like this considering I've only been using it for a short time.

Bobolinks … A little closer look … I was happy the new lens could produce a shot like this considering I’ve only been using it for a short time … clicking on any image will make it much larger and sharper.

Heading back East I saw and photographed my only Bald Eagle of the day and stopped on 880 at a spot with some trees where I got Praire Warbler and Blue Gray Gnatcatcher.

My next stop was at Snook Island where I hoped to pick up a few more shorebirds.  Unfortunately it was very high tide and even though I got pictures of all of the following all were from literally a mile away.  I captured Marbled Godwit, Willets, Spotted, Western and Least Sandpipers, Ruddy Turnstones and the continuing Oystercatcher family.

Yellow-billed Cuckoo ... Right across the street from the Snook Island parking area.

Yellow-billed Cuckoo … Right across the street from the Snook Island parking area.

When I first got to Snook Island I saw Linda and Dave who alerted me to a Royal Poncietta tree that was a couple hundred yards from the parking lot.  The tree had hundreds of caterpillars that a group of Warblers and Cuckoos were happily dining on.  There were a couple of Magnolias and Redstarts.  A Black and White and Yellow-throated Warbler made up what I got on camera.  Linda and a few others had seen a Prothonotary, Worm-eating and Yellow Warbler before I arrived.

American Redstart

American Redstart

Magnolia Warbler

Magnolia Warbler

It was now about 1pm and I heard a rumble of thunder in the distance.  The forecast had called for thunderstorms in the afternoon and I was hoping they would hold off for a little longer.  I headed down to the Boynton Beach Inlet and squeaked out another 4 species including this wonderful Common Tern.

Common Tern ... The lens really proved itself at the beach!

Common Tern … The lens really proved itself at the beach!

I only spent an hour or so as the sky’s were looking pretty scary and I still wanted to hit Green Cay to pick up a few more easy species … so off I went.

Pied-billed Grebe ... Looking sharp in his breeding plumage!

Pied-billed Grebe … Looking sharp in his breeding plumage!

Purple Galinule ... Always a pleasing subject.

Purple Galinule … Always a pleasing subject.

As I was walking around the boardwalk at Green Cay I realized I hadn’t had enough water throughout the day.  I was starting to wear out really quickly and I missed some really easy species that I see almost every day including Purple Swamphen, Sora, Brown Thrasher and Painted Bunting … all of which I saw this morning.

I managed to photograph 79 species and I’m sure with better planning and staying hydrated I could have added another dozen or so.  I only saw a handful of species that I didn’t get pictures of including King Rail.  I also forgot to take a picture of a Tri-color Heron of which I saw 25 or more of at STA 1.  I saw dozens of Swamphens at the STA but didn’t bother to try getting a shot because the ones at GC have been visible every time I’ve been out there recently.

If I hadn’t pooped out I could have picked up a couple of species more at Loxahatchee and I should have stopped at Peaceful Waters on my way in from out West for a few more.  I’ll guess I’ll just have to try again sometime!!!  It was a really fun day and I’m happy with the way the lens performed.

Thanks for following and God Bless!

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big Photographic Day … 9-30-14

  1. toko tommee tippee says:

    Pretty

  2. Great shots – That Yellow-billed Cuckoo is quite a find. I’ve heard that there is a lot to see lately at Snook Island.

Leave a Reply

