Day 6 … Juneau (part 1)

Juneau Alaska

Juneau Alaska

Juneau, the Alaskan state capitol, was a fantastic port of call.  The captain had us docked before 7 am and our planned excursion for the day was not until noon.  I was able to get out very early and walk up the road about 4-5 miles birding along the roadside edges.

I’m a very early riser and I was standing on our balcony at 6 am when this guy flew by … not a bad way to start your day!

Bald Eagle ... Early morning flyby!

Bald Eagle … Early morning flyby!

Juneau is a unique state capitol in that there are no roads or trains to get you there.  You either have to fly in or float in.  Now don’t get me wrong there are lots of roads and it is really a nice looking place but the tour guide told us the one main road is 42 miles long … you get to the end of the road and there is a big sign that says “the end” … and that’s it!

I spent the early part of my walk along the piers working my way towards the edge of downtown.  There are a couple of fish canning factories very near where we docked and there were quite a few gulls nearby waiting for scraps.  There were also a couple of Eagles and a nice Common Raven.

Bonaparte's Gull ... The water was so nice and calm!

Bonaparte’s Gull … The water was so nice and calm!

Common Raven ... Not a "lifer" but by far the best picture I've taken of this beauty.

Common Raven … Not a “lifer” but by far the best picture I’ve taken of this beauty.

Harbour Seal ... I guess he was looking for scraps too!  How can you not like that face!

Harbour Seal … I guess he was looking for scraps too! How can you not love that face!

So as I walked up the road I noticed that it was exceptionally quiet.  I saw a few birds flitting way high in the trees but could never ID any of them.   I finally managed to see some birds a little lower down at the Thane’s Campground.  This is a nice looking tent only campground not far out-of-town.  Most of what I saw were Orange-crowned Warblers but I also had a Flycatcher that I got a crappy picture of and was not able to ID.

Orange-crowned Warbler ... These were very common on our trip.

Orange-crowned Warbler … These were very common on our trip.

On the way back I scared up a couple of Fox Sparrows so the morning turned out OK.  I managed to get back to the ship in time for lunch and then Terri and I headed out on our next adventure.  We had a part Whale watching and part Glacier exploring tour scheduled.  The Whales were nice, the other wildlife even better and the Glacier amazing, so standby till tomorrow or the next day for part 2 of Juneau!!!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 6 … Juneau (part 1)

Leave a Reply

