Day 5 … Icy Straight Point, Hoonah Alaska

We had many Humpback whales throughtout our trip and this was the best of the best whale tail!!!  Courtesy of Terri!

We had many Humpback Whales throughout our trip and this was the best of the best whale tail!!! Courtesy of Terri!

Whale watching was on the menu for today and fortunately the weather was very cooperative and it was an afternoon trip so there was no rushing around first thing in the morning.  This was the only port of call where the ship couldn’t dock but they had the ships lifeboats acting as ferries and the process for getting to and from shore was a breeze.

This is where we were headed  ... Icy Straight Point in Hoonah Alaska.

This is where we were headed … Icy Straight Point in Hoonah Alaska.

Tendering to and from the ship!

Tendering to and from the ship!

Terri and I actually went ashore early in the day to look around and spend some more time gift shopping.  As we were walking around we headed down the beach where a bunch of Gulls were loafing and a pair of Red Crossbills flew in.  This was a bird high on my want list and I was able to get some nice pictures before they flew off.

Red Crossbill ... One of my favorite "lifers" from the trip.

Red Crossbill … One of my favorite “lifers” from the trip.

I have to confess, as much as I wanted to see whales I also knew there was always a possibility of seeing birds and I certainly wasn’t disappointed.  The boat we took was very similar to the jet boat we took to the Misty Fiords yesterday.  These jet boats can really haul ass and they had us on a large group of whales in an hour or so.

This is what one normally gets to see of a Humpback ... very cool !

This is what one normally gets to see of a Humpback … very cool !

This one was heading away from the boat and you can see his blow holes.

This one was heading away from the boat and you can see his blow holes.

This guy swam right up to the back of the boat ... this is full frame.  He was really close!

This guy swam right up to the back of the boat … this is full frame. He was really close!

I did pick up a couple of new species on the trip back in.

Marbled Murrelet ... A very nice pick up for me!

Marbled Murrelet … A very nice pick up for me!

Black-legged Kittiwake ... These were the first adults I had seen on the trip.

Black-legged Kittiwake … These were the first adults I had seen on the trip.

When we got back in port Terri took this really cool picture of a Jellyfish.

Cool looking Jelly!

This cool looking Jellyfish is call a Sea Nettle … chrysaora fuscescens!

Back on shore I walked around the woods that are adjacent to the town and picked up one more lifer the Pacific Wren.

Pacific Wren.

Pacific Wren.

Icy Straight Point was a fantastic port of call.   The transportation back and forth to the ship was easy and the boat that took us whale watching was fabulous.  I’m already looking forward to a return trip!!!

Next port of call is Juneau and another whale watching and more adventure … stay tuned! I do get to go back to work tomorrow so it may be a day or two in between updates.  Thank you so much for following and God Bless!

 

`

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

