Day 2 … Vancouver, Stanley Park

After a wonderful nights sleep Terri and I had a nice breakfast at the Bellagio Restaurant directly across from the hotel and were waiting for the young man to open the bike shop at 8:30.  I had checked the rates the day before and was happy with what I thought were very reasonable rates for renting the bikes.  We were shocked when he told us he did not have any regular bikes but only electric assist ones that turned out to be one of the coolest things I’ve ever used.  They allowed you to pedal as much as you wanted or ride it just like a scooter … way cool and it allowed us to stay out much longer than if it had been an all pedal power day.

Me on one of our super cool electric assisted bikes!

Me on one of our super cool electric assisted bikes!

Off we went to Stanley Park one of Vancouver’s gems.  This park is over 1,000 acres and has almost ten miles of extra wide bike paths that go all around the perimeter of the island.

This is a view of a small part of the park showing the bike path.

This is a view of a small part of the park showing the bike path.

I could have spent days in the park and it really is a treasure for the people of Vancouver.  Everywhere you looked there were wonderful flowers and open green areas.

Stanley Park gardens.

Stanley Park gardens.

My beautiful wife admiring the beautiful flowers!

My beautiful wife admiring the beautiful flowers!

There were so many cool areas of the park including a wonderful display of Totem Polls with nice explanations as to what went into making them and the significance of each part.

Totem Polls

Totem Polls

We rode about half way around the perimeter before heading over to the Vancouver Aquarium.   This was a really nice place and I could do an entire post just on it.  We really enjoyed the exhibits and they had a pair of Beluga Whales which was a first for me.  Beluga’s are pure white and around 18 ft long weighing in at nearly 2 tons.  Very cool and something I never thought I’d see … later in another blog you’ll here more about these magical whales.

Beluga Whale at the aquarium.

Beluga Whale at the aquarium.

After lunch at the aquarium and the first of many hours in gift shops Terri and I rode around a little more of the park and eventually back to the bike shop around 2:30 or so,  Terri headed back to the hotel and I got a chance to do some “serious” bird watching back in the park.  At 1,000 acres I really didn’t know where to start so I rode the seawall bike path and was able to add Mew Gull as a “lifer”.  I also had a couple of nice Warblers … a Black-throated Gray and a Wilson’s.

Mew Gull

Mew Gull

Black-throated Gray Warbler

Black-throated Gray Warbler

Wilson's Warbler ... Look at the cap on this apparently adjutated male!

Wilson’s Warbler … Look at the cap on this apparently adjutated male!

I had a very enjoyable afternoon exploring a wonderful park and even the animals were very friendly often waving at the passerbys!

Very friendly natives!

Very friendly natives!

Tomorrow we sail for Alaska and all the wonders that were in store for us.  Let me just say we saw whales every day, incredible scenery everywhere you looked and had some really cool tours in our various ports of call!

Until the next post thank you for visiting and God Bless!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Flowers, General, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

