Alaska … Quick Highlights

The adventure begins!!!

Celebrity Millennium ... This is a shot from our room in Vancouver as the ship came into port on our day of departure!

Celebrity Millennium … This is a shot from our room in Vancouver as the ship came into port on our day of departure!

Terri and I just returned from our 11 day Alaska adventure and all I can say is WOW!  I had some expectations when we left and don’t think I left any of them in Alaska!  For those who read the blog regularly you’ll realize that of course birds were high on my list of what I wanted to see and I can report that I did find quite a few “Lifers” but to tell you the truth there was so very much more I was hoping for and below is a teaser of some of the incredible things we saw!

(Clicking on any picture will enlarge and optimize it for your screen)

Mount Denali ... The guides say that less than 30% of the people who come to view the mountain actually get to see it and less than 5 % see it with no clouds!!

Mount Denali … The guides say that less than 30% of the people who come to view the mountain actually get to see it and less than 5% see it with no clouds!!

Grisley Bear ... Our guides record for one trip was 11 bear sightings.  We saw 12 ... including this guy right next to the road!

Grizzly Bear … Our guides record for one trip was 11 bear sightings. We saw 12 … including this guy right next to the road!

Humpback Whale ... Terri and I saw whale every day while underway and I caught this guy first thing in the morning as we entered the Hubbard Glacier area.

Humpback Whale … Terri and I saw whales every day while underway and I caught this guy first thing in the morning as we entered the Hubbard Glacier area.

Hubbard Glacier ... Often the ships captain can only get within a couple of miles of the glacier ... we were less than 1/2 a mile!!!

Hubbard Glacier … Often the ship’s captain can only get within a couple of miles of the glacier … we were less than 1/2 a mile!!!

Willow Ptarmigan ... This is the Alaska state bird and one of the "Lifers" I photographed while in Alaska!

Willow Ptarmigan … This is the Alaska state bird and one of the “Lifers” I photographed while in Alaska!

Wolverine ... This is by far the "rarest thing I saw.  The guide who has driven this tour for the last 13 years had only seen a Wolverine once and that was a very quick glance ... we watched this guy for minutes as he climbed a mountain side!  I took many, many photos and even though it is from a long ways away I gecame somewhat of a celebrity as everywhere we went for the next couple of days everyone wanted to see the proof!!

Wolverine … This is by far the “rarest”thing I saw. The guide who has driven this tour for the last 13 years had only seen a Wolverine once and that was a very quick glance … we watched this guy for minutes as he climbed a mountain side! I took many, many photos and even though it is from a long ways away I became somewhat of a celebrity as everywhere we went for the next couple of days everyone wanted to see the proof!!

This is just a quick highlight and I’ll go day to day in the next week or so with much more details of the where’s and when’s and the good and the bad of our vacation … actually there were very, very few negatives!

Thanks for stopping by and I’ll be working hard to fill in the details!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alaska … Quick Highlights

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    Each one of these is an incredible photo, but that wolverine…how very very fortunate for you. SO exciting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

