A Couple of More Bigby Birds

I’ve been a little bit hit and miss with my birding as of late mostly due to the excitement of Terri and my trip to Alaska.  I’ve also been waiting on a new lens for my camera.  My 100-400 mm lens is broke and I’ve been using a 70-300 mm which is way lighter but doesn’t give me quite the reach I need for shorebirds.

Prothonotary Warbler ... This was a very nice unexpected surprise!

Prothonotary Warbler … This was a very nice unexpected surprise!

I was hoping my new Tamaron 150-600 mm lens would show up before our vacation but it doesn’t look to promising right now.  Fortunately I have some very good friends (Linda and Cheryl)  who are both willing to let me borrow their 100-400 mm lens for the trip.  I am going to borrow Linda’s which means I will really have to work hard and find her a new bird or two for her Green Cay list!

Barn Swallow ... Tough to catch up with these super fast flyers!

Barn Swallow … Tough to catch up with these super fast flyers!

I’ve gone birding a number of times over on Starkey Road which is just West of the turnpike on Atlantic Ave in Delray Beach.  There are some very nice farm fields that are sometimes flooded and make great habitat for migrating shorebirds.  Most are a little to far away but I’ve managed photograph Greater and Lesser Yellowlegs, Solitary and Spotted Sandpipers and best of all a group of Pectoral Sandpipers.

Pectoral Sandpipers ... A good species found close to home!

Pectoral Sandpipers … A good species found close to home!

At the end of the fields there is a dirt cross-road that is good for Songbirds and an occasional Raptor.   This is where I found the Prothonotary Warbler a couple of days ago and there have been a few other migrants around like Red-eyed Vireo, Black and White Warbler, American Redstarts and a few Gnatcatchers.

Black Bellied Whistling Ducks ... I love the baby "Bumble Bees"! They had 5 or 6 babies.

Black Bellied Whistling Ducks … I love the baby “Bumble Bees”! They had 5 or 6 babies.

Mottled Duck and her babies.

Mottled Duck and her babies.

It is amazing the life that these fields hold and yield and it is a pitifull shame that developers are slowly but surely building/eliminating all of our local farms.  Besides the above families there are also quite a few Black-necked Stilt families and Killdeer are all over the fields.  The margins in between fields hold Red-winged Blackbirds, Grackles and I’m sure more.

Just a few of the 25 plus waders using the fields.

Just a few of the 25 plus waders using the fields.

These fields are also a great benefit to many, many of our local waders.  Besides the four species in the above picture there were half a dozen Little Blue Herons, one Great Blue and 3-4 Great Egrets all feeding within viewing of the road.  I’m sure there were tons more out in the fields.  I hope they don’t ever build here but it seems the developers have a unsaicable appetite for this type of property.

Sharp-shinned Hawk ... This guy was hunting Doves in the field right across the street from our development.  Unfortunately thiese fields are already being developed and will be all gone within a year or two :(

Sharp-shinned Hawk … This guy was hunting Doves in the field right across the street from our development. Unfortunately these fields are already being developed and will be all gone within a year or two 😦

The next couple of months should be very productive for my Bigby.  I have 4 days off after we get back from Alaska and we will be right in the heart of Shorebird migration so I should be able to pick up another good group of birds then.  Hopefully my new lens will show up while were gone and I’ll have a new toy to play with!

Thank you as always for following and God Bless!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Couple of More Bigby Birds

  1. greenfirefox says:

    I love the shot of the Black Bellied Whistling Ducks! I shouldn’t be surprised that developers are willing to destroy their land, considering the birds were there first, since we had the same problem where I’m from. When an over-the-top football stadium was built, apparently they didn’t leave enough room for parking. So because of this, a natural reserve that had been around for FOREVER was going to be leveled with endangered species of birds. Luckily the reserve won the battle and the birds are still protected, so I wish the best for that gorgeous Sharp-shinned Hawk!

Leave a Reply

