Red-necked Stint … Best Florida Bird … Ever (At least for me!)

Red-necked Stint

Red-necked Stint

A little over a week ago a scientist from Norway, Viktor Nilsson-Örtman was in the Southern Florida Keys searching for insects when he noticed a small shorebird that stuck out from the others it was feeding with.  Viktor is also a birder and realized that this guy was way, way out of range and quickly contacted a few locals and the word quickly spread of Florida’s first ever Red-necked Stint.

Red-necked Stint

Red-necked Stint

On Wednesday my good friend Carl Edwards and I made the four-hour trip down to Boca Chica Key to see this probably once and a life time bird. A few pair of these guys actually have bred in far Western Alaska and every year a few show up on the East coast but always from New Jersey and further North.  This guy is actually better than the Snowy Owl I got in January as they’ve been seen in Florida a couple of time before.

Here it is with some Western and Least Sandpipers.

Here it is with some Western and Least Sandpipers.

Red-necked Stint

Red-necked Stint

In the local area there has been a little bit of early migration at Green Cay Wetlands.  I’ve had a Praire Warbler, Louisiana Waterthrush and a couple of Blue Gray Gnatcatchers this past week.  I also had 5 Greater Yellowlegs in the flooded fields off Starkey Road.

Blue Gray Gnatcatcher

Blue Gray Gnatcatcher

Louisiana Waterthrush ... This was also a new bird for my Bigby!

Louisiana Waterthrush … This was also a new bird for my Bigby!

Migration will be ramping up the closer we get to the middle of August but with the continued super hot weather, yesterday it was 97 degrees at 2 PM, it really is tough to bird much past early, early morning.

Thank you for visiting and hopefully I’ll have some new shorebirds in the next week!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red-necked Stint … Best Florida Bird … Ever (At least for me!)

  1. jcblithe says:

    Thanks for the pics, wish I could get out of work to go see for myself. Being new to South Florida where is my best chance for shorebirds during their migration? I visited Green Cay the last two weekends as I was so impressed with the layout and diversity there. Any location tips are greatly appreciated.

    • sheriffsmith says:

      Shorebirds will be coming through in good numbers all through August and into early September. The best place to see large numbers and variety of shorebirds are the Agricultural fields in the Western part of the county. The fields that are easiest to get to are those off of Route 880 which is off of Southern Blvd. There are multiple spots off of 880 including Sem Chi Rice Road, Gladeview Road and the best Browns Farm Road. It is possible to see 20 plus species of shorebirds on the right day during migration. I go to Green Cay often and it is possible for us to have shorebirds there if they drop the water level there. I probably have seen 15 + shorebirds species there through the years including White-rumped Sandpiper, Stilt Sandpiper and other goodies! Good luck and if I can be of any more help drop me a line at smithturtlesmith@aol.com. Tom

Leave a Reply

