July = Slow Birding

Heat, bugs and thunderstorms are a sure way to put a damper on birding.  I have managed a couple of brief excursions and while I didn’t manage to find anything new for my Bigby I did find some really nice flooded fields close to home.  Shorebird migration has started and in past years these fields have held a few nice birds … not like the variety or numbers that are seen in Western Palm Beach County but this is only a couple of miles ride versus a 3-4 hour ride to get to the sod fields.

White Ibis ... The fields off  of Starkey Road are primed for lots of Shorebirds!

White Ibis … The fields off of Starkey Road are primed for lots of Shorebirds!

The only shorebirds I saw today were our year-round Killdeer and one Lesser Yellowlegs.  It is really, really early so I have great hopes for the coming weeks.

Lesser Yellowlegs ... Hopefully the start of a great Fall migration!

Lesser Yellowlegs … Hopefully the start of a great Fall migration!

Earlier in the week I visited Green Cay and while not that birdie this Yellow-crowned Night Heron posed nicely for Linda and I.

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

Living on the 7th floor allows Terri and I a wonderful view of our near daily thunderstorms.  Our front porch looks West and many of the afternoon storms are generated over the Everglades due to day time heating and move from there towards the coast.  I usually just watch the storms with Terri but the other day she was napping when this beauty developed so I thought I’d take some pics so she could see what she slept through!

Tuesdays very impressive Storm from our 7th floor balcony!

Tuesdays very impressive Storm from our 7th floor balcony!

I also was very fortunate enough to catch one of the many lightning bolts!

Lightning Bolt !!!

Lightning Bolt !!!

Major migration is just around the corner so I should be getting a little more active and hope to have lots to post about soon!  As always thank you so much for following and God Bless.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July = Slow Birding

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    These are really impressive photos, and I especially like the two storm photos. Wow.

Leave a Reply

