Rainy First Week of July

Green Cay Wetlands ... The good thing about rain is rainbows!

Green Cay Wetlands … The good thing about rain is rainbows!

I managed to get out a little this last week but was chased off a couple of times due to our near daily Thunderstorms.  Riding the bike requires really watching the skies and the weather radar.  I have waterproof bags for most of my gear but it still stinks getting drenched and Florida is the lightning capital of the world so I really try to be careful.

Great Blue Heron ... I don't take many habitat shots but thought this guy was worth posting.

Great Blue Heron … I don’t take many habitat shots but thought this guy was worth posting.

I’ve spent all of my time at Green Cay and Wakodahatchee Wetlands this week.  While the variety of species is down there is still plenty of action if you look close enough.  There are a lot of young birds around and still a few that are just starting nests like the below Double-crested Cormorants.

Bring in a stick ...

Bring in a stick …

Make some babies ...

Make some babies …

Then brag about it !!!

Then brag about it !!!

This Purple Galinule was busy feeding her four new babies and she also had a teen-aged young one hanging around.

Purple Galinule family.

Purple Galinule family.

The young birds sometimes have pretty funky plumages like this young male Boat-tailed Grackle.

Boat-tailed Grackle

Boat-tailed Grackle

There are not many birds for me to chase for my Bigby until the birds start coming South.  Shorebirds start showing up towards the end of the month and I just have to find some flooded fields within biking range.  I’ll do my best to dodge the showers and lightning and find something to shoot!!

Thank you for visiting!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy First Week of July

  1. la2boca@aol.com says:

    Honey – I love reading this blog – however, WPress will not let me sign in, so that I cannot leave comments. HELP please!!!!!

Leave a Reply

