June Challenge … Finally 100

I know there is still a day left in June but tomorrow is a gym day so my June Challenge is officially over.  This is my 4th year of doing the June Challenge and is the first that I managed to photograph over 100 species of birds.  I actually managed to get 101 species and saw or heard another half dozen or so that I didn’t get on film.

Orchard Oriole ... I chased this guy on Tuesday last week.  This species is only seen in one spot in the county each summer.  There has been a pair that have nested at Tory Island Campground in Belle Glade for the last couple of years.

Orchard Oriole … I chased this guy on Tuesday last week. This species is only seen in one spot in the county each summer. There has been a pair that have nested at Tory Island Campground in Belle Glade for the last couple of years.

This year has actually been much more of a challenge than past years and I only managed to bird less than half the month and of those days I really only “birded” 5 or 6 days.  I have just not had the motivation to get out in the heat and bugs.

Cliff Swallow ... This is another species that you have to know where to go to see it.  They have used the same bridge to roost and breed under for some time and it is only a matter of finding the time to get out there.

Cliff Swallow … This is another species that you have to know where to go to see it. They have used the same bridge to roost and breed under for some time and it is only a matter of finding the time to get out there.

Part of the reason for my lack of motivation is that Terri and I are going to Alaska on a cruise in a little over a month and I am already getting so excited.  I’ve been doing a lot of pre-planning and also studying the potential new birds that I might see.

Monk (Quaker) Parakeet ...  One of the two very successful species of Parakeets we have in Palm Beach County.

Monk (Quaker) Parakeet … One of the two very successful species of Parakeets we have in Palm Beach County.

Unfortunately my 100-400 lens broke a couple of weeks ago and I decided to order a Tamron 150-600 lens instead of getting this one fixed.  My birding buddy Linda let me use her 100-400 for most of the month and I still have a Canon 70-300 that I’ve used the last week or so.   The above pictures were taken with the 70-300!

Northern Flicker ... This was a new species for me for the month of June.  I haven't compared lists from other years yet but I bet there are 3-4 more species that were new for this month.

Northern Flicker … This was a new species for me for the month of June. I haven’t compared lists from other years yet but I bet there are 3-4 more species that were new for this month.

I’m looking forward to the Fall migration and my two trips out to Western PBC showed a lot of promising fields for shorebird migration.  There seems to be more sod fields this year and less sugar cane.  I’m excited about using my new lens on the shorebirds, that is when I finally do get it (it’s back ordered right now).

Little Blue Heron ... I love it when they are at this point of their molt.  They are unique in that they start out white and as they mature turn to their adult blue.

Little Blue Heron … I love it when they are at this point of their molt. They are unique in that they start out white and as they mature turn to their adult blue.

The blog may be a little slower in July as I prepare for Alaska but hopefully my new lens will arrive and of course I’ll want to get out and show how good it is!  Thank you so much  for following and as always God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to June Challenge … Finally 100

  1. dinajohnston says:

    Congrats on your 101 sighting. I’ve been working too much to even count. Can’t wait to see your pictures from Alaska.

  2. Susan Young says:

    Nice job Tom! Love the photos…as always. Could you maybe post a list of the birds seen?

    Thanks and keep up the good work,

    Sue Young

Leave a Reply

