June Challenge Update

I did a little traveling over my weekend and have managed to get my June list up into the mid 90’s.  The highlight of my weekend was visiting the Barn Owl roost off of Brown’s Farm Road and capturing a couple of nice images like the one below.

Barn Owl ... These guys are very skittish but when they do fly towards you they almost always maintain eye contact.

Barn Owl … These guys are very skittish but when they do fly towards you they almost always maintain eye contact.

I also picked up an Eastern Kingbird at STA 3/4 and a late Tree Swallow on the back road of the Holyland area.  That was the first time I’ve ever gone all the way to the end of that road and there is some amazing habitat on the East side of the road.  I will definitely be visiting this area again.

Eastern kingbird ... I normally won't take pictures of birds on a wire but since it was for the June Challenge I'll include it!

Eastern kingbird … I normally won’t take pictures of birds on a wire but since it was for the June Challenge I’ll include it!

Last week while visiting Riverbend Park I had a wonderful experience with a family of Sandhill Cranes.  The parents had a newish Colt (baby Sandhill Crane) and it was sitting down in the grass.  I got off my bike and sat down on the path to get a nice low angle.  After 5-10 minutes the Colt got up and stretched and the family proceeded to walk right along the path within a foot or so of where I was sitting … very, very cool!!

Sandhill Crane Colt

Sandhill Crane Colt

Its close approach was really amazing!

Its close approach was really amazing!

Lastly I managed to get a nice picture of a Pied-billed Grebe at Green Cay Wetlands.  Most of this species has migrated North and I was happy to see this guy at a reasonable distance!

Pied-billed Grebe

Pied-billed Grebe

As always thanks for visiting and God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to June Challenge Update

  1. Terri Smith says:

    Honey, this is just amazing – and YOU ARE AMAZING!!! The colts are PRICLESS!!!!

  2. GarryRogers says:

    Great Barn Owl photo!

  3. JL Malloch says:

    You are doing a great job Tom and we all have so much to learn from you. Thanks for sharing with us !! Great info and pics !!!

Leave a Reply

