June Challenge … Quick Update

Indian Peafowl ... These guys have been living and breeding at Riverbend park in Jupiter for 40-50 years at least.  They still are uncountable but certainly meet all the criteria to be added to my list!

Indian Peafowl … These guys have been living and breeding at Riverbend park in Jupiter for 40-50 years at least. They still are uncountable for the ABA but certainly meet all the criteria to be added to my list!

I was able to pick up 15 more species over the/my weekend.  I am up to 82 species and have 5 or 6 really easy ones to get and then the real work will start to get to 100.  I only was able to bird on Tuesday and decided to go to Riverbend Park in Jupiter to pick up Wild Turkey and whatever else might be around.

Red-shouldered Hawk

Red-shouldered Hawk

I finally, on day ten, managed to photograph a Red-shouldered Hawk.  I also picked up Swallowtailed Kite and managed to get a better picture of a Northern Parula.

 

Northen Parula ... One of the few Warblers that stays in Palm Beach County

Northern Parula … One of the few Warblers that stays in Palm Beach County

Wild Turkey ... An almost certain spot to find these guys!

Wild Turkey … An almost certain spot to find these guys!

Since I was up in the Jupiter area I decided to head over to the Jupiter Scrub Ridge and look for the Florida Scrub Jays that have been hanging out there for a couple of years.  It was a very hot walk to get to the area that I heard they were at and I was stoked to find them within 10-15 minutes of arriving in the correct area.

Florida Scrub Jay

Florida Scrub Jay

I also picked up Common Ground Dove and saw a couple of Great-crested Flycatchers fighting over a large insect.

Common Ground Dove

Common Ground Dove

Thank you for following along!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June Challenge … Quick Update

  1. Terri Smith says:

    You saw a lot up at Riverbend! When it is not so hot and humid and buggy I would like to go to Riverbend…..

Leave a Reply

