Great Weekend … June Challenge

Sandhill Crane

Sandhill Crane

For those new to the blog my weekend is Tuesday and Wednesday.  I was able to get out quite a bit and was able to add some really nice birds to my list like the Sandhill Crane above.  I visited quite a few different places including Boynton Beach Inlet, Snook Island, Wellington Wetlands, Peaceful Waters, FAU Campus, Spanish River and of course Green Cay Wetlands.

American Oystercatcher ... What a cool looking bird!!

American Oystercatcher … What a cool looking bird!!

I had quite a number of interesting sightings while out and about.  The Oystercatchers at Snook Island have 3 young ones and were flying back and forth continually for the 45 minutes I was there.  I was lucky as most of the time they were feeding on the Oyster beds in the Intercoastal but this one time this one flew down close and I was even fortunate to see it extract an Oyster!

Killdeer ... Pretending she is hurt to draw me away from her nest.

Killdeer … Pretending she is hurt to draw me away from her nest.

While visiting Wellington Wetlands I came across a Killdeer that must have had a nest near the path I was riding on.  Killdeer will fly off a little ways and pretend they have a broken wing so that any predator will chase them and get away from the nest … always cool to see.

Cooper's Hawk ... While not the greatest capture it still shows some cool action!

Cooper’s Hawk … While not the greatest capture it still shows some cool action!

At the beginning of the month I would have bet the first Hawk I would have photographed would be a Red-shouldered but I still haven’t got close to one.  I did however see Cooper’s and Red-tailed Hawks already!

Cooper's Hawk

Cooper’s Hawk

Red-tailed Hawk

Red-tailed Hawk

A few more species that I managed over my weekend!  Click on any picture, anywhere in any of my blogs and it will optimize it for your screen.

Loggerhead Shrike

Loggerhead Shrike

Eastern Meadowlark

Eastern Meadowlark

Mute Swan

Mute Swan

Thank you so much for following and I’ll try to add a few more pics in the coming days!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Weekend … June Challenge

  1. Sheriffsmith,
    Most of the birds you have for us to view and marvel over, I’ve not seen in the wild. However, the first bird pictured today, the sandhill crane is found in great numbers in Wisconsin where I live and watch birds in my yard and at wildlife refuges.
    Betsy

Leave a Reply

