Babies Galore !!

The birding in South Florida has rapidly changed in the last couple of weeks.  Migration came to a haltingly screeching stop last week and until the late Summer/Fall shorebirds start arriving there will be little in the way of new birds to chase in the county for my Bigby.

(Click on any picture to optimize it for your screen)

Wood Storks ... These are the babies we are most thankful for as Wood Storks are very tempomental with where they nest and this is only the second year they have successful at Wakodahatchee Wetlands.

Wood Storks … These are the babies we are most thankful for as Wood Storks are very temperamental with where they nest and this is only the second year they have been successful at Wakodahatchee Wetlands.

Please don’t feel sorry for us though … we still have over a 100 species or so that Summer here and right now there are babies being born and raised all over the local wetlands.

Tri-color Herons ... These guys win the prize for funkiest hairdos!!

Tri-color Herons … These guys win the prize for funkiest hairdos!!

The annual June challenge is right around the corner and seeing that I’ve only managed 93, 96 and 94 species the last three years I just might put a little more effort into finally breaking 100 species photographed for the month!

Glossy Ibis ... A seldom seen baby.

Glossy Ibis … A seldom seen baby.

This coming weekend Cheryl and I are going on a Pelagic trip out of New Symyrna Florida.  Pelagic birding is where you take a boat out and look for the species that spend 95% of their lives at sea.  We have done this trip a couple of times and it is always exciting to see some species we seldom get to see.  I should have some photos to share early next week.

Purple Galinule ... She was actually covering up 3 babies.  Unfortuneatly the nest is not located well for photo ops!

Purple Galinule … She was actually covering up 3 babies. Unfortunately the nest is not located well for photo ops!

One advantage of slower birding is that I can go to the gym a little more.  This should help me on the Bigby in the Fall.  I not sure how I will manage to ride my bike out to the sod fields for Fall shorebirding but I’ll try to figure something out.  It is 30-40 miles one way to get out there and some of the roads are not really all that biker friendly.

European Starlings ... The poor parents picked a bad place to have babies as this is one of the resident Red-shouldered Hawks favorite perch.  It looks they managed OK as these three look healthy.

European Starlings … The poor parents picked a bad place to have babies as this is one of the resident Red-shouldered Hawks favorite perch. It looks they managed OK as these three look healthy.

This last one is not from Green Cay or Wakodahatchee.  The FAU campus in Boca Raton has many Burrowing Owls and they are prospering quite well.  A fellow birder reported counting over 20 Owls seen in one morning last week.

Burrowing Owls ... The parent Owl was about a foot to the right of these two watching me intently!

Burrowing Owls … The parent Owl, sitting on a perch, was about a foot to the right of these two watching me intently!

I really want to thank everyone who is still following and I really do appreciate all of your very kind comments!  I hope to have a very exciting report from this weekends Pelagic so stay tuned!!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Babies Galore !!

  1. dinajohnston says:

    So many cute babies. Love that glossy baby. The adults are fairly rare around here.

  2. Phillip says:

    I have never seen a glossy baby before. That’s a good picture.

Leave a Reply

