Last Weekends Wrapup

I have been a horrible blogger lately.  Time just seems to slip away every time I think about writing.  Between birding, the gym, work and home life there just isn’t enough hours in the day.  I’m going to finish up last weekends story and intersperse a few more shots from the 1st of April.

Great-crested Flycatcher ... This guy was showing off for his near-by girlfriend!

Great-crested Flycatcher … This guy was showing off for his near-by girlfriend!

I last left off getting ready for a night of camping in Riverbend Park in Jupiter.  First off let me admit that camping isn’t really allowed at Riverbend but I figured since I wasn’t going to have a fire and all I really wanted to do was sleep I’d risk it.  I had scouted out some spots and decided on one that was just off one of the horse trails.  I thought the odds of anyone snooping way back there were very limited and I would be able to sleep and be out before daylight.

Black-throated Green Warbler

Black-throated Green Warbler

Setting up camp was pretty straight forward and I was in the tent getting comfortable by 8:15 or so.  When I was scouting for a spot I failed to take into consideration the many water features that make up Riverbend and managed to set up my tent right near where a Limpkin was “screaming”.  If you have never heard a Limpkin you can not appreciate how loud they can be … click on the following link and play the call just to give you a feel for what I was hearing.  This guy was actively screaming for at least 20 minutes before thankfully flying down the canal.  I could still hear it but not to the point where it would keep me awake.

Black and White Warbler

Black and White Warbler

The rest of the night went surprisingly well.  I was a little cool because I had not closed the rain fly and it was a little bit damper than I had thought.  I still managed quite a few hours of decent sleep with the sounds of Crickets and Bull Frogs serenading me all night.

Northern Parula

Northern Parula

I was up and totally packed by 5:15 and was at Dunkin Donuts by 6:00.  My coffee and sandwich were both outstanding and I headed towards the beach with plenty of time before sunrise.  The Jupiter Inlet is a part of Carlin Park and I have had some really good birding at both of these locations.

The Crack of Dawn!

The Crack of Dawn!

There was very little wind and absolutely a perfectly clear sky when I finally arrived.  I had just enough time to break out the camera gear and capture the days sunrise.  There was not alot of action at the inlet, just the normal Pelicans, Turnstones and Sanderlings.  I did have a fly by Peregrine Falcon and managed a few nice shots.

Sanderling

Sanderling

Ruddy Turnstones

Ruddy Turnstones

The rest of the day was pretty bird less and was spent riding South into a pretty good headwind.  I stopped at MacArthur Beach State Park and rode all the way over to the beach.  It was fairly desolate with just a couple of Gulls and a large group of resting Vultures.

MacArthur Beach State Park

MacArthur Beach State Park

The trip up was right at 40 miles … the trip home was a little longer because I hugged the coast all the way South and it goes back and forth across the intercostal a few times ended up being 58 miles.   I was fairly well worn out by the time I got home but besides a little sunburn on the top of my legs I think I managed the long trip very well.

Thank you all for following me and being patient with my slogging, blogging!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

