Spanish River Park … Warblers, Owls and Flycatchers … Oh my!!!

Sunrise 3-10-14 ... I was just trying to get the Pelicans when the Tern crossed in front!

Sunrise 3-10-14 … I was just trying to get the Pelicans when the Tern crossed in front!

I’m not a big fan of Daylight Savings Time as I’m an early riser and now my start times are all push back an hour.  I woke up this morning and twiddled my thumbs for a little and finally left for Spanish River Park in Boca Raton.  This was the first time I’ve ridden the bike to this park and was surprised it only took an hour.  I arrived in plenty of time to see this spectacular sunrise.  I believe I’ve mentioned this in an earlier post but birders get to see so many of these beauties and quite a few stunning sunsets as well!

Lesser Black-backed Gull ... I had a few friends to hang out with as they were waiting for sunrise too!

Lesser Black-backed Gull … I had a few friends to hang out with as they were waiting for sunrise too!

Royal Tern ... Just as the sky began to change colors.

Royal Tern … Just as the sky began to change colors.

I did miss a species this morning as I was shooting the sunrise … when I looked up from the viewfinder I noticed a Common Loon or more accurately its hind end as it flew North up the beach.

The reason I chose Spanish River this morning is that I bumped into a gentleman at Green Cay who said he had a nice male Black-throated Green Warbler there on Saturday so I thought it might be worth the 30 mile roundtrip ride as this is not always an easy Warbler to find.

Black-throated Green Warbler ... the catapiller he is getting ready to eat looks like it was parasitized by a Wasp or something ... I'm guessing that the white egg looking things shouldn't be on this catapiller.

Black-throated Green Warbler … The caterpillar he is getting ready to eat looks like it was parasitized by a Wasp or something … I’m guessing that the white egg looking things shouldn’t be on this caterpillar.

On top of the prospect of the Warbler my buddy Linda said I should have no trouble finding a Great Horned Owl and with her excellent directions I scored this beauty too!  There was actually a second Owl about two feet from this one but he was facing the opposite direction.

Great Horned Owl ... I think he was tired of me taking his picture.  This guy had to be 75 feet up in an Australian Pine ... thank God for telephoto lenses!

Great Horned Owl … I think he was tired of me taking his picture. This guy had to be 75 feet up in an Australian Pine … thank God for telephoto lenses!

I was blessed to find another new Bigby bird this morning when this very cooperative Great-crested Flycatcher flew in and perched for like 5 minutes … even I couldn’t mess this one up!!

Great-crested Flycatcher

Great-crested Flycatcher

One more picture … just because!

Pileated Woodpecker ... This is a male excavating a nest hole ... a favorite of mine, they remind me of Woody Woodpecker!

Pileated Woodpecker … This is a male excavating a nest hole … a favorite of mine, they remind me of Woody Woodpecker!

I had a fantastic morning and I thank God every day for having the time and ability to get out and enjoy the wonderful amazing world he has given us.   Thanks for the visit!!

 

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spanish River Park … Warblers, Owls and Flycatchers … Oh my!!!

  1. What an outing! You included a few of my favorites. It’s a shame the loon didn’t cooperate. I haven’t seen one for years and never seen one fly.

  2. Awesome finds and images captured!

  3. Wow . Thank you for the magnificent pictures. I so love pic’s of birds & wildlife. And still facinated everytime i see one i have never seen before.
    Thank you.

  4. Gael says:

    Great photos, thanks.

Leave a Reply

