Back From Vacation

Terri and I just returned from a quickie cruise for our anniversary to Cozumel and Key West.  We had a fabulous time and the snorkeling in Cozumel was amazing and helps to remind me that the Ocean is teaming with just as many amazing fish as the sky is with amazing birds.  I can imagine snorkeling/scuba diving being every bit as addictive as birding.

(Click on any picture for a nicer version)

Little Blue Heron ... Green Cay is a photographers dream and allows for some awesome portraits!

Little Blue Heron … Green Cay is a photographers dream and allows for some awesome portraits!

I went out last night and this morning to Green Cay.  The weather was super and allowed me to capture a few nice images.  There is a lot of mating, nesting and a few babies already.

Purple Galinule ... Just starting on the baby making!

Purple Galinule … Just starting on the baby making!

Common Galinule chicks ... Lots of these guys are bron anually at GC.

Common Galinule chicks … Lots of these guys are born annually at GC.

I was happy to see the Ruddy Duck I found last week was still hanging out and he was quite a bit closer this morning.

Ruddy Duck

Ruddy Duck

Ruddy Duck and Pied-billed Grebe ... I love this shot as it gives a real good perspective on the Ruddies small size!

Ruddy Duck and Pied-billed Grebe … I love this shot as it gives a real good perspective on the Ruddies small size!

There were still quite a few Warblers in the parking lot and some of the Palms and Yellow-rumps are beginning to change into their breeding plumage.

Palm Warbler

Palm Warbler … You can see where his rusty cap is coming in.

I captured a first for me this morning.  We see many Blue-gray Gnatcatchers all Winter long and they tend to leave before changing over to breeding plumage.   The guy below has a really nice Black eye-brow that I hadn’t seen before and this caused me to do a little research to find out more about their different plumage states.

Blue-gray Gnatcatcher ... Breeding plumage male!

Blue-gray Gnatcatcher … Breeding plumage male!

I still have a couple of days before I have to go back to work and I hope to get out and add a few new birds to my Bigby list.   Thank you so much for visiting and as always God Bless!

 

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

