February Wrap Up

In the month of February  I bike a little over 175 miles with a big chunk of that coming on my trip to STA 1 East.  Like I said in an earlier post the last couple of weeks have been a little divided as I was going to the gym as often as I was birding … more of that at the end.

Black Skimmer

Black Skimmer

According to Ebird I saw 130 species of birds by the end of the Month.   I added 25 more species to my Bigby list and look forward to having a much better March and April as migration picks up.

White-eyed Vireo

White-eyed Vireo

I haven’t quite caught up on all the pictures for my Flickr site but you can view most of the 150 Bigby species I’ve seen this year if you click here.

Black-hooded Parakeet

Black-hooded Parakeet

Today was an exciting day.   For starters it is the first anniversary for Terri and I.  It’s hard to imagine a wonderous year has already flown by.  Second after having gone to breakfast we stopped out at Green Cay (where else since that’s where were married at) and I ran into Dorian Anderson.  Dorian is doing a Big Year strictly by bicycle … absolutely no fuel, just pedal power.

Rock Dove ... I know it's just a Pigeon, but he sure is pretty!

Rock Dove … I know it’s just a Pigeon, but he sure is pretty!

I have been following his blog since the beginning of the year and was very excited to meet him in person and even better than that offer him a meal and a place to stay tonight … super exciting!   You can read all about his big year http://bikingforbirds.blogspot.com/!  Best thing about his Big Year is that he is doing it for charity so if you get time to look at his blog please consider clicking on the donate button to at least think about it!

Northern Pintail

Northern Pintail

So that’s it for now … but before I go I’d just like to brag a little.  I mentioned in an earlier post that we were having a weight loss contest at work … well I ended up losing 39 pounds since the first of the year!!  I’ve been told that I won easily but there were still a few people to weigh in so I won’t know for sure for a couple of days.

As always thanks for following along and God Bless!

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February Wrap Up

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    Enjoyed your photos, especially the skimmer skimming…wow.

Leave a Reply

