Bigby … Catching Up

Once again I’m playing catchup with my blogging.   One thing that truly impresses me are those who make the time to post on a daily basis.  I just don’t ever seem to have enough time in my day to both bird, exercise, edit photos and then blog, oh and most importantly spend time with my wife!

So I’ll post a bunch of pics from the last week and the captions will contain the stories …

(Click on the picture for full size)

Common Eider ... One of the birds I had seen earlier in the year but not photographed ... I was very happy I took the long ride to the beach!!

Common Eider … One of the birds I had seen earlier in the year but not photographed … I was very happy I took the long ride to the beach!!

Common Eider ... Doing a little morning stretching!

Common Eider … Doing a little morning stretching!

Bonaparte's Gull ... One I had hoped for but hadn't counted on.  It was the only one on the beach in a large Gull/Tern roost of a couple hundred birds!

Bonaparte’s Gull … One I had hoped for but hadn’t counted on. It was the only one on the beach in a large Gull/Tern roost of a couple hundred birds!

Parasitic Jaeger ... A very unexpected bonus.  I hadn't expected any Pelagic species because it was not very windy and was thrilled when this guy passed by!

Parasitic Jaeger … A very unexpected bonus. I hadn’t expected any Pelagic species because it was not very windy and was thrilled when this guy passed by!

Yellow-breasted Chat ... One of the tough Warblers to find.  It is a very reclusive and shy bird so I was fortunate to get his pictures before he disappeared back into the brush.

Yellow-breasted Chat … One of the tough Warblers to find. It is a very reclusive and shy bird so I was fortunate to get his pictures before he disappeared back into the brush.

Merlin ... I'd seen this guy a couple of times but always in lousy weather, until yeasterday!

Merlin … I’d seen this guy a couple of times but always in lousy weather, until yesterday!

Gray Catbird ... Just cause it's pretty!

Gray Catbird … Just cause it’s pretty!

Black and White Warbler ... This guy was "frozen" against the side of the tree after a Cooper's Hawk came crashing through the woods chasing breakfast.  He didn't move, not even blink for about 5 minutes!

Black and White Warbler … This guy was “frozen” against the side of the tree after a Cooper’s Hawk came crashing through the woods chasing breakfast. He didn’t move, not even blink for about 5 minutes!

I’ve also been catching up with my “Bigby” photo list on Flickr.  I’ve not quite totally caught up but many of the species I’ve seen/photographed for my green big year can be seen here.  I’m now close to 130 species seen for the year with decent pictures of 95% of them.  Some I’ve seen a bunch but just don’t have a picture I like yet to place in the photo stream.

Wednesday I plan on taking my longest ride of the year.  I plan on getting out to STA 1 East and a few other spots out West.   The 60-70 mile ride should help me add quite a few species to my year list so wish me luck!!

As always thank you SOOOOOOOOOOOO much for following and I do really appreciate your kind comments!  God Bless!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bigby … Catching Up

  1. Those pictures made my day! They caught the essence of the glorious creatures. Thank you!

  2. Phillip says:

    Well dad, I always enjoy reading about your recent trips, and it gives me something to talk about to my co-workers at the university. I’ve introduced several people to your blog and they all check it regularly. They all LOVED the snowy owl pictures.

  3. Alix says:

    Great shots. I particularly like the descriptions.

Leave a Reply

