Stormwater Treatment Area 5

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Scissor-tailed Flycatcher

Yesterday Cheryl and I ventured over to Hendry County looking for the reported Cassin’s Kingbirds.  They were being reported on the road right outside of STA 5 hanging out with some Western Kingbirds and Scissor-tailed Flycatchers.   We did not manage to find a Cassin’s but did come up with the other two species.

Western Kingbird ... There were at least 7-8 of these guys way up on the wires and I was frotuate to catch this guy out flycatching looking for a meal!

Western Kingbird … There were at least 7-8 of these guys way up on the wires and I was fortunate to catch this guy out flycatching looking for a meal!

The Stormwater Treatment Areas are open Friday-Monday for walkers and bikes so we didn’t know if we would be able to go in but we met a couple of employees near the front gate and they said that us being birders not to worry.

Snail Kite

Snail Kite

We rode the dikes for 4-5 hours and managed to see a total of 84 species between the entrance road and the STA itself.   I know I’ve written about this before but I just wanted to again say that the STA’s are great places to bird … but not always so great for photography.  They allow hunting and many of the birds are so gun-shy that they flee when any car or in our case bike approaches.  I did manage a few nice pics but it sure would be nice if the birds had at least a few places to go and not have to worry about being shot at.

Eastern Meadowlark ... He was on the wire when were first got in singing his little heart out!

Eastern Meadowlark … He was on the wire when were first got in singing his little heart out!

Fulvous Whistling Ducks

Fulvous Whistling Ducks

Black-necked Stilts

Black-necked Stilts

STA 5 is a great place but quite a distance away so I don’t visit often.  I was able to add some nice birds to my Florida year list and spent some really nice time with one of my favorite birding buddies!

Thank you so much for visiting and God Bless!

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stormwater Treatment Area 5

  1. sakuranova says:

    Hello! Would you see my blog?
    http://sakuranova.wordpress.com/

  2. cheryl says:

    thank you

  3. Jet Eliot says:

    Breathtaking photos…especially liked the scissor-tail flycatcher. You’re so lucky to have them in your area.

  4. Wonderful, as usual! Love the meadowlark. Surely only gamebirds can be hunted, though? The meadowlarks, flycatchers, etc. should be safe! (Right? Please tell me no one is hunting stilts…!)

  5. Terri says:

    The photos are really fantastic honey!!!! Glad you were able to go.

  6. Beautiful Pictures! Thanks for sharing them 🙂

  7. ilovemydots says:

    Great shot 🙂

Leave a Reply

