January Wrap Up

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker

I had a very productive January and ended the Month with 172 species seen for the State and 125 for the Bigby.  Of course the bird of the Month would have to be the Snowy Owl seen near Jacksonville but I think I did pretty well in the County seeing some nice birds like a Peregrine Falcon and the Cave Swallow I had at Snook Island was a pleasent surprise and I finally did manage to see the Yellow-breasted Chat at Green Cay.

Snowy Owl

Snowy Owl

I birded 21 days this month which included 15 days of Bigby birding on my bike.  I covered 208 miles by bike this past month and only drove the car twice covering 44 miles doing a little County birding.  The North Florida trip was 4 days of birding in which I traveled just under 1250 miles.  On a side note on 7 of the days I didn’t bird I was in the gym and covered another 22 miles running and 14 miles on the bike!

River Otter

River Otter

As the weather warms up it will be interesting to see if I can keep up such an aggressive biking regimen.

River Otter

River Otter

Saturday at Green Cay we had an Otter put on quite a show.  She was diving for snails and crayfish in the Gator Hole and I managed to capture a couple of nice images. There are so many great things about Green Cay and the chance to see real Wildlife acting as if we weren’t even there is right up there on the top of the list.  While the Bobcats are probably the most exciting to see the Otters, Gators and Birds are all special in their own right!

River Otter

River Otter

February is going to be a little bit slower of a birding Month because we are currently having a weight loss contest at work and I will be increasing my Gym workouts a little towards the end of the month.   March and April are our really busy months with Spring migration so I’ll be out and about much more then.

Thank you all so very much for following!!

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to January Wrap Up

  1. Pingback: January Wrap Up | Feature Magazine

  2. Pingback: January Wrap Up | MarcoHD Magazine

  3. Pingback: January Wrap Up | Sono solo Film

  4. Pingback: January Wrap Up | Il Blog di Angelino HD

Leave a Reply

