Pondhawk Natural Area

Today is my anniversary with WordPress and blogging so after 220 something posts I sometimes forget what I’ve talked about in the past and the Pondhawk Natural Area is a perfect example.  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this new natural area here in Palm Beach County but bare with me if I already have.

Cedar Waxwings ... This was what greeted me as I arrived at Pondhawk this morning ... a great way to start!

Cedar Waxwings … This was what greeted me as I arrived at Pondhawk this morning … a great way to start!

Pondhawk has been open for about 3 1/2 years and has slowly grown into quite a nice birding area with a number of really nice birds having been seen there.  The natural area sits very close to the Spanish River Library and has a very large lake on the East side that often has Royal Terns and other birds feeding.  The entrance path into the actual natural area is also always busy with activity and I had a couple of Painted Buntings as well as Palm and Praire Warblers before even entering.

Cedar Waxwings ... One of my favorite Winter visitors!

Cedar Waxwings … One of my favorite Winter visitors!

Today was very active and I recorded 47 species including a few new ones, at least for me for the property.  Besides the Waxwings I had a couple of Robins that really did not want to pose but I did end up managing one OK ID shot.

American Robin ... I know for all those who live North of Florida there is not much excitment for Robins except as a harbinger of Spring.  Down South we only see them in limited numbers during Winter so I was happy to record it for Pondhawk.

American Robin … I know for all those who live North of Florida there is not much excitement for Robins except maybe as a harbinger of Spring. Down South we only see them in limited numbers during Winter so I was happy to record it for Pondhawk.

I also was able to record my first Sparrow at Pondhawk.  This nice little Swamp Sparrow obliged me with perhaps 10 seconds of posing!

Swamp Sparrow

Swamp Sparrow

Like I said it was fairly birdie and I managed a couple other nice pictures …

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Brown Thrasher

Brown Thrasher

Blue-gray Gnatcatcher

Blue-gray Gnatcatcher

Blue-headed Vireo

Blue-headed Vireo

Today was pretty near a perfect birding day … nothing super rare but a wonderful assortment of birds, perfect weather and I was able to add a couple of birds for my Bigby list!

Thank you everyone so very, very much for supporting my humble little blog for the last couple of years!  God Bless!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pondhawk Natural Area

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    Delightful photos, especially the waxwing close-up.

Leave a Reply

