It Was a Cold and Windy Morning

Sounds like the beginnings of a great novel!  Sorry just another report of my birding adventures.  I know if you don’t live in Florida it’s hard to imagine that we think temps in the 40’s are cold but today with the wind chill I really had to get prepared for another 40 plus mile ride.

I decided, even with the frigid temps, that I wanted to head back up to Snook Island to see if I could finally get American Oystercatcher for my Bigby and that is certainly the most reliable spot in the county that I am aware of.  So I  layered on the clothes, broke out my gloves and hat and this is what I ended up looking like!

My beautiful Wife couldn't stop laughing!

My beautiful Wife couldn’t stop laughing!

You can stop laughing now … I am so happy I decided to “brave” the weather as Snook Island in Lake Worth turned out to be a gold mine today.

I did manage to pick up the Oystercatcher … actually two!

American Oystercatcher

American Oystercatcher

I was thrilled to get my target bird but that was just the tip of the iceberg, even though I didn’t actually see any icebergs!  There were quite a few kettles of Turkey Vultures passing through heading South all morning.  I was chatting with a young man and said a couple of them didn’t look quite right and sure enough not one but two very young Bald Eagles.

Bald Eagle ... Notice the white on four of the feathers on his wings.

Bald Eagle … Notice the white on four of the feathers on his wings.

Bald Eagle ... All dark wings!

Bald Eagle … All dark wings!

Now any day with an Eagle sighting is a fantastic one but I actually found an even better species.  The picture isn’t the best but it shows the diagnostic features of a Cave Swallow.  I don’t see many of these and they do look quite similar to Cliff Swallows but I’m pretty sure there are no Cliffs in Florida in the Winter.

Cave Swallow ... Shows the Rufous rump and you can just see the Rufous on his head.

Cave Swallow … Shows the Rufous rump and you can just see the Rufous on his head.

I also had quite a bit of luck adding some other new birds for my Snook Island list including American Kestrel, Coopers Hawk both Common Yellowthroat and Palm Warblers and a few others that I got nice pictures of.

Spotted Sandpiper ... I don't think I've ever been to this location and didn't see one of these guy.

Spotted Sandpiper … I don’t think I’ve ever been to this location and didn’t see one of these guy.

Little Blue Heron

Little Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Green Heron ... All of these guys were sitting on the lee side of the Mangroves, out of the wind and enjoying the sun!

Green Heron … All of these guys were sitting on the lee side of the Mangroves, out of the wind and enjoying the sun!

I did stop briefly at Boynton Beach inlet and Lake Worth Pier but there was nothing new to report and I ended up spending 80% of my time at Snook Island.

My legs are much sorer this week than last week, primarily due to the 15-20 mph “breeze” that seemed to keep switching around to which ever direction I was riding … not really but today it made the difference from riding 15-17 miles an hour with the wind or 8-9 into the wind.

Thank you as always.  I know a good chunk of the country is really freezing versus our wimpy Florida freezing and I hope my pictures can maybe bring a little warmth into your life!   God Bless!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It Was a Cold and Windy Morning

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    Enjoyed your bird photos and yes, the photo of you did bring a warm smile. Thank you.

  2. Carman Vare says:

    Okay to use one of the photos of the juvenile bald eagles in our Department’s newletter? We are the agency that constructed Snook Islands and like to get the word out to the public of the successes. Thanks

  3. Hi Tom, I’ve been catching up on your posts, and just wanted to say as I continue on, the photos from each post have been so beautiful! Never stop photographing our feathered friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

