Snowy Owl … In Florida !!

Snowy Owl ... Just an incredible bird!

Snowy Owl … Just an incredible bird!

My Northern Florida trip turned out to be just one wonderful bird after another with this Snowy Owl being the cherry on top of the sundae!

The Snowy Owl has only been officially recorded in Florida two times before this one showed up.  This makes her a super rarity and a “Life” bird for most of the people who have got to visit with her and a “State” bird for probably like 99% of the visitors.   It is very difficult to explain just how exciting it is to even share space with such an incredible creature and I was fortunate enough to experience her with 7-8 others.

Showing her huge claw and talons.

Showing her huge claw and talons.

While I got to visit with her she pretty much just stood still and occasionally looked around and even though it was 48 degrees out and the wind was blowing pretty hard the time just flew.

Snowy Owl

Snowy Owl

After an hour or so she turned sideways and gave us this amazing look at her side.  She started preening and stretching so I decided to wait for her to fly and little did I know that it would be much later when she finally did go airborne.

Stretching ... What a gorgeous wing!

Stretching … What a gorgeous wing!

Snowy Owl are just under two feet tall and have a wing span of 52 inches which make them slightly bigger than a Great Horned Owl.  They are the heaviest Owls by far weighing close to 4 pounds.

Preening Snowy!

Preening Snowy!

After three and a half hour she shifted positions facing the other direction and after lighting her load (pooping) I told those that remained that I thought she was getting ready to fly and before the words had barely left my mouth she was airborne!!

Snowy showing off her four and half wing span!

Snowy showing off her four and half wing span!

I haven’t had a chance to come up with a total species count for the trip yet but I know I saw 2 “Lifers” and at least 4 “State” birds which I will share very soon.  I usually don’t dedicate a post to a single bird … but OHHHHHHHHHHHHH what a bird she is!

Thank you so much for visiting and I hope she put as big a smile on your face as she did mine.  God Bless!

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Snowy Owl … In Florida !!

  1. Bill Kominsky says:

    It sure did put a smile on my ugly face Tom and the series of images are nothing short of brilliant, so jealous, great work.

  2. Melanie says:

    We’ve had one along Hatteras the last couple of weeks. Not all common around there.

  3. Connie Shackleford says:

    It’s wonderful to see you’ve started a blog, and am looking forward to visiting and seeing all the great pictures you capture. Congrats on getting the snowy owl.

  4. She_Who_Hears says:

    🙂 Gorgeous birds!

  5. Fantastic collection of images! I was there one day too … Same day? You got lots of varied poses.

  6. Larry Frogge says:

    Outstanding set of images Tom!!!

  7. Oh, it looks like he’s giggling! I love this picture.

  8. Vine Vampire says:

    Beautiful pictures, especially the las one, the light is just perfect! ❤ keep posting!

  9. Stunning captures, Ed! So very pretty. I haven’t been fortunate yet to actually see one, even with all the sightings around me, but seeing shots by others are almost as good. One in Florida is amazing, lucky you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

