First Week of “Bigby”

I’ve managed to get out every day since the year began and have so far logged about 53 miles on my bike and walked another 8 or so.  I have seen 85 species of birds so far and I was able to photograph and record all the tough ones so even though I have a few more common species to get pictures of I’m technically at 85 for my “Big Green Birding Year”  which somehow becomes the acronym “Bigby”.

Purple Swamphen ... What a beautiful addition to our wetlands!

Purple Swamphen … What a beautiful addition to our wetlands!

My other lists stand at 68 species for Green Cay Wetlands … 47 species at Wakodahatchee Wetlands … 49 species at Loxahatchee NWR and I’ve seen 33 species at my home in Huntington Lakes!  My county list would be the same as my “Bigby” list because I haven’t driven any place to see birds yet this year.

Northern Harrier

Northern Harrier

The best birds I’ve seen this week were a Baltimore Oriole, Summer Tanager and Orange-crowned Warbler.

Orange-crowned Warbler

Orange-crowned Warbler

Baltimore Oriole ... I have to thank Linda for this one as she had the "Eagle Eye" yesterday and today!!

Baltimore Oriole … I have to thank Linda for this one as she had the “Eagle Eye” yesterday and today!!

Summer Tanager.  This one has been hanging out for the last week or so!

Summer Tanager. This one has been hanging out for the last week or so!

For those who are regulars to the blog you may notice that some of the pictures are from a little further away than what I might normally post.  Last year was more about the pictures and I worked harder on my photography while this year is more about bird watching and so as long as a bird is identifiable I’m happy with it.

Downy Woodpecker

Downy Woodpecker

Tomorrow I am going on my annual Northern Florida trip.   This year there is an especially great bird near Tallahassee that has been hanging out for a week and a half.   A Snowy Owl has been at Little Talbot State Park and I know he was seen today and I just pray that it sticks around for a couple more days.

What is also exciting is I get to start a new list for the year tomorrow … a State List and I think I might get 100 species or more on my trip so wish me luck!!

Thank you all so much for following and God Bless!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Week of “Bigby”

  1. Jet Eliot says:

    Great photos…and I hope you get a look at the Snowy Owl….

  2. sethapurity says:

    What a beautiful bird! Great Job!

Leave a Reply

