And So the List’s Begin

Neotropic Cormorant

Neotropic Cormorant

I want to wish all those out in the Blog-o-sphere a Happy and Healthy 2014!  My 2013 was fantastic and with the addition of my beautiful wife Terri and with us settling into our wonderful home my life couldn’t be happier!  I’m looking forward to a great year of blogging and with the added incentive of doing a “Bigby” I’ll hopefully be posting a little more often to chronicalize my endeavors!

Summer Tanager

Summer Tanager

My New Years started off with a planned big ride and I was out early on my bike to Loxahatchee NWR.  I stayed at Loxahatchee for a little over 4 hours and then continued on to Green Cay Wetlands where I spent a couple of hours before finishing up the day at Wakodahatchee Wetlands.  My total mileage for the day was 25.8 and other than a little bit of a sore butt everything went well.

Cedar Waxwing

Cedar Waxwing

The weather was not very conducive for photography but I managed to see a total of 65 species between the three places.  Loxahatchee had the largest variety at 49 species, Green Cay had 37 while at Wakodahatchee I only managed 27 species in the late afternoon.

Wilson's Snipe

Wilson’s Snipe

I managed to record a few good species yesterday including the Neotropic Cormorants that are still at Wakodahatchee.  There are at least three individuals with one pair of Neo’s on a nest and one individual on a nest with a Double-crested Cormorant partner.  It will be interesting to see if after breeding with the Double-crested for a few years if we can still identify any of the original Neotropics that were discovered here 3 years ago.

Blue Jay

Blue Jay

Today was an exact opposite of yesterday weather wise.  We woke to clear skies and I was excited to be able “record” many more species today.  Green Cay was wonderful this morning and the ride out refreshing.  I hadn’t been in the parking lot for 5 minutes when one of the first birds I saw was a beautiful Summer Tanager.  This is a species I only see a couple of time a year and was thrilled to be able to record it this early in my year.

Pied Billed Grebe

Pied Billed Grebe

I had an extremely enjoyable walk around today with Linda, Dr. Alan and a couple of our out of towners Shake and Brian.  I also ran into many of my birding friends which makes for a really nice way to start the year.  On top of  that the birding was nice and in addition to the Tanager I was able to record amongst the 48 species we saw the first of the seasons Cedar Waxwings a nice Wilson’s Snipe an American Bittern and a lovely Yellow-throated Warbler which I hadn’t seen for a couple of months.

I know Terri loves Cedar Waxwings and she was able to make it out in time to see and record them.  It doesn’t get much better than that … being able to share wonderful birds with friends and especially loved ones!

Thanks for visiting and God Bless.  Keep looking up, and remember birds have wings and you never know what might be in the tree right outside your window!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And So the List’s Begin

  1. You had a great year. Thank you for sharing your pleasing photography. I will continue to look forward to your posts.
    Gerry
    P.S. send our blue jay back, it’s not that cold

  2. imnjupiter says:

    Beautiful pictures! I love cedar waxwings, too. I saw them for the first time in March 2013 by my house. A huge flock of them, maybe 60-80. They stayed around for two afternoons before heading on their way.
    In which of the three locations, did you discover this waxwing? I need to be on the lookout.

Leave a Reply

