Green Birding

The past three days I’ve gone birding the self-powered way … by bike!  I visited Green Cay Wetlands on both the 1st and 2nd.  Green Cay is an easy 4.8 mile round trip but today I decided to visit Loxahatchee National Wildlife Refuge which was a little longer at 19.2 miles round trip!

I haven’t all of sudden become overly environmentally conscious but I have a few ideas for what I want to do next year and I just want to see how many places are in biking range and will be doing a little more riding the rest of this month.  Actually, you do see considerably more biking and I had two really nice finds this morning that I know I wouldn’t have seen if I had driving.

Short-tailed Hawk ... Enjoying a breakfast of European Starling!

Short-tailed Hawk … Enjoying a breakfast of European Starling!

On the way back from Loxahatchee I saw this really gorgeous Short-tailed Hawk with a freshly caught Starling.  Short-tails are fairly rare in Palm Beach County and this is the first Dark-morph that I have seen at close range.  I had seen one (probably this one) kettling with Vultures over Loxahatchee and could not believe my luck to see him again and at such close range!!!  He stayed for maybe 5 minutes and then a Turkey Vulture dove at him and he obligingly did a few nice loops over my head before moving off to enjoy his catch uninterrupted.

Short-tailed Hawk ... What a beautiful Raptor.

Short-tailed Hawk … What a beautiful Raptor.

On the ride I also passed a flooded median that contained five Greater Yellowlegs feeding with a flock of Boat-tailed Grackles.

Greater Yellowlegs ... I would never have recorded these if I was in the car!!

Greater Yellowlegs … I would never have recorded these if I was in the car!!

I had just under 60 species this morning at Loxahatchee with the best being a Northern Waterthrush, Savannagh and Swamp Sparrows the Short-tailed Hawk and a pair of Ring-necked Ducks.  I’ve been at Loxahatchee 50 times or more and this morning I recorded my first ever Sora.  This is a bird I see almost every day at Green Cay so it was a nice treat to put it on my Lox list.

Sora ... A new Loxahatchee bird!

Sora … A new Loxahatchee bird!

Also very cooperative were this Carolina Wren and this Swamp Sparrow!

Carolina Wren ... Looking for a partner to "sing" with!

Carolina Wren … Looking for a partner to “sing” with!

Swamp Sparrow

Swamp Sparrow

Sunday, Terri looked out at the lake behind the house and saw a huge flock of Ducks fly in.   Turns out it was a group of 26 Black-bellied Whistling Ducks … a new yard bird!

Black-bellied Whistling Duck ... This was one tired group and most were already dozing by the time I made it downstairs to record them.

Black-bellied Whistling Duck … This was one tired group and most were already dozing by the time I made it downstairs to record them.

Thank you for visiting and I really, really do appreciate the comments!!

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Green Birding

  1. dinajohnston says:

    So many great shots! I have to get down there one of the days this winter.

  2. E.D. says:

    do you live in Palm Beach Florida, is this near Palm court, Jacksonville?

  3. Vicki Rogerson says:

    I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blog. I have to concur on seeing more on a bike than in a car. Also, on a bike you can just stop and get a photo- not always so easy to do in a car. I used to ride my bike 3 hours and go 30 miles. Since birding, I now ride for 3 hours and go 10 miles. I am more interested in birds per hour than mph!

  4. Zargo says:

    Gorgeous animals!

  5. Susan Young says:

    Wow great find and photos! Love the blog, keep up the good work. Amazing shots…

Leave a Reply

