Catching Up … Again!

I somehow managed to get out quite a bit this past couple of weeks and even though it seems like I ate 20 pounds of Turkey and other yummy stuff I managed to get a few nice images.  I hope everyone had a nice holiday and managed to see a few birds other than Turkeys! 

I’ve been concentrating mainly at home and at Green Cay Wetlands and will probably for the rest of this year.  We had a wonderful cold front come through on Wednesday and woke up to temps in the upper 40’s which I know are not that cold for our Northern brethren but quite refreshing for us thin blooded Floridians.

Northern Harrier ... There has been a Female Harrier at Green Cay every Fall/Winter for the last 3-4 years which gives everyone ample opportunity for nice pictures.

Northern Harrier … There has been a female Harrier at Green Cay every Fall/Winter for the last 3-4 years which gives everyone ample opportunity for nice pictures.

It has been quite the week for Raptors.  The Winter resident Northern Harrier puts in a show daily along with our year round resident Coopers and Red-shouldered Hawks.  We have an on again/off again pair of Falcons, an American Kestrel and a Merlin that are seen fairly regularly.  On top of the regulars also seen this week were a nice Broad-winged Hawk and Linda got some nice pictures of a young Bald Eagle flying through right after I left a couple of days ago.

Red-shouldered Hawk ... Another of our resident Raptors.

Red-shouldered Hawk … Another of our resident Raptors.

Coopers Hawk ...

Coopers Hawk … This is a youngster but yesterday I got nice pics of one of the adult males which I will post soon.

My favorite find of the week was this Marsh Wren.  They can be quite elusive and often very difficult to photograph but this guy was kind enough to pop up in front of us and show off his Jean Claude Van Damme like flexibility.

Marsh Wren ...

Marsh Wren … One of my marshland favorites!

One of the more seldom seen Warblers is the Orange-crowned Warbler.  I have only seen them on 2 other occasions at Green Cay so was thrilled to find this one and then have him come this close  and pose in front of a fair number of other birders!

Orange-crowned Warbler

Orange-crowned Warbler

Painted bunting are a species that we have all Winter long at Green Cay and are fairly easy to see around the feeders in front of the visitors center.  Most of the birds we see are adult birds either brightly colored males or the equally beautiful female “greenies”.  This young male was near an empty feeder in the small woods and I loved the lighting on his chest showing off his suptle coloration.

Painted Bunting ...

Painted Bunting …  He’ll soon molt into having the fanciest feathers around!

I was happy to pick up a couple more birds for my yard list this week.  I’ve seen a few more species that I hope to photograph soon including a nice Forster’s Tern that has been eluding me for some time!

Blue-headed Vireo ...

Blue-headed Vireo …  I loved the over the shoulder look!

Northern Parula ...

Northern Parula … One of the few Warbler species that can be seen year round in Southern Florida.

Finally, we occasionally see birds missing their tail feathers.  Most of the time it means they were very lucky and just missed being someones breakfast.  He certainly didn’t seem to be missing it as he was feeding and calling as if nothing happened!

Blue Gray Gnatcatcher ...

Blue Gray Gnatcatcher … His buddies call him stubby!

Once again as always thank you so much for visiting and I hope my pictures can put a smile on your heart and on your face!  God Bless …

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Catching Up … Again!

  1. Great series of shots. Love the marsh wren.

  2. And smile I did, indeed. Nice pix!

Leave a Reply

