This Weeks Local Captures!

Common Eider ... This guy is very unusual for this far South in Florida and was a new county bird for me!

Common Eider … This guy is very unusual for this far South in Florida and was a new county bird for me!

I really had a nice week birding locally with one new county bird and a new species for Green Cay Wetlands. One of the great things about being a birder in Florida is there are lots of others that share our passion and most are very willing to share their observations with everyone else.  This past week a Common Eider was reported from the Lake Worth Pier and I was fortunate enough to get pretty good looks at it on Tuesday.  It spent a good deal of time under the pier but did show itself a couple of times allowing me to record a new county species!

Caspian Tern ... A first for me at Green Cay Wetlands!

Caspian Tern … A first for me at Green Cay Wetlands!

Wednesday morning I went to Green Cay Wetlands to walk around with my good birding friend Linda.  Linda has a remarkable list of birds seen at Green Cay (I think it is at 191) and we are always looking to add a new species to her list.  We had just passed the visitors center and entered the wetlands proper when I saw a Tern flying at quite a distance.  I quickly yelled Caspian Tern and we were very fortunate that it decided to come closer and allow for some decent shots showing the dark orange bill with a black tip. She was not 100% sure if this was a new species for her at GC and I didn’t get a chance to talk to her today to see if it was her 192nd species!!! 

Purple Swamphen ... One of the ABA's newest countable birds and we have a lovely family of 5 at Green Cay!

Purple Swamphen … One of the ABA’s newest countable birds and we have a lovely family of 5 at Green Cay!

The Purple Swamphen’s are one of the newest species added to the American Birding Association’s master list.  They have been around for 10 years or so and have become much easier to see in the past couple of years.  This Summer a pair of Swamphens had a family at Green Cay and 3 of the babies are now nearly full grown.  When they were first seen  they were very wary and never came close enough for good pictures but now that they have kids they seem to have loss all their fear and can be seen at a very close distance.

Eurasian Collared Dove ... This is one I rarelt see at Green Cay.  We have lots of White-winged and Mourning Doves that seem to hog the feeders!

Eurasian Collared Dove … This is one I rarely see at Green Cay. We have lots of White-winged and Mourning Doves that seem to hog the feeders!

The Eurasian Collared Dove above was the first one I’ve seen recently at Green Cay.  It was pretty cool to see 3 species of Dove at one time all at one feeder.

The rest of the pictures are just for your viewing pleasure … remember clicking on any picture makes it larger and if you then click again much larger.

Palm Warbler ... Our number one most abbundent Warbler in the Winter!

Palm Warbler … Our number one most abundant Warbler in the Winter!

Downy Woodpecker ... I love these little guys!

Downy Woodpecker … I love these little guys!

Red-shouldered Hawk ... He greets us in the parking lot many mornings.

Red-shouldered Hawk … He greets us in the parking lot many mornings.

Once again I can’t thank you enough for following the blog.  I hope everyone enjoys looking at the pictures as much as I enjoy taking them!  God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Weeks Local Captures!

  1. I’d love to see a swamphen. When I was in New Zealand I got to see the Takahe, which looks kind of like the swamphen’s dinosaur uncle. I love the perspective in your picture – they both look so round.
    And congratulations on the eider!

  2. Karolyn Cooper says:

    I’ve never seen a swamp hen. I love that photo, and the comment from toughlittlebirds about the dinosaur uncle!

  3. Fun shots! I need to get up there one day soon! It’s been quite a while….

Leave a Reply

