Birding around the Home

After returning from Boston and updating some of my bird lists I noticed that my list for my new home is woefully inadequate.  Terri and I moved in to Huntington Lakes just over a year ago and although I’ve seen a good number of birds I haven’t taken the time to document my sightings.

Ring-necked Ducks

Ring-necked Ducks … Terri spotted these guys from our 7th floor patio and I was lucky they stayed long enough for me to record them!

Huntington Lakes is a very large Condo development that was built between 25-30 years ago.  The property is located adjacent to a golf course and we have dozens of lakes of all sizes with canals interlinking many of them.  The property has dozens of different trees and enough diverse habitat that I suspect with a little effort I should be able to document over 100 species in my “back yard!”

Limpkin ... Because of the golfers and many walkers many of the birds are typical Florida birds and are fairly easy to get close to.

Limpkin … Because of the golfers and many walkers many of the birds are typical Florida birds and are fairly easy to get close to.

All of the pictures in today’s blog (except the first one of the Ducks) are from this past week.  The weather has cooled off a tiny bit and with the time change I have a little more time to bird in the mornings.

Little Blue Heron ... This guy was having a great morning catching little fish ... I think he might have missed this particular time!

Little Blue Heron … This guy was having a great morning catching little fish … I think he might have missed this particular time!

Snowy Egret ... I had a nice week for reflective shots!

Snowy Egret … I had a nice week for reflective shots!

One of my big surprises this week was finding an early Yellow-bellied Sapsucker.  This is one of the migratory Woodpeckers and I usually don’t find one untill December or January.  We have at least 5 species of Woodpeckers on the property and I was happy to get a couple more recorded in the last couple of days.

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker ... I was lucky to find this guy as he was very quiet and I only looked up into this tree because I noticed a couple of Warblers!

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker … I was lucky to find this guy as he was very quiet and I only looked up into this tree because I noticed a couple of Warblers!

Downy Woodpecker ... One of the two most common Woodpeckers along with Red-bellied on the property.

Downy Woodpecker … One of the two most common Woodpeckers along with Red-bellied on the property.

It’s fun to try to document ALL the species of your back yard or your local patch.  Sometime we tend to ignore the Cardinals and the Blue Jays and certainly the Doves but when you are trying to get nice shots of them you start to appreciate just how pretty some of the more common birds can be.

White-winged Dove ... What a beautiful specimen!!

White-winged Dove … What a beautiful specimen!!

I had a very fun week just working around my “back yard” and plan to be more diligent in adding to my records.  I again want to thank everyone who is following me and my adventures and God Bless!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birding around the Home

  1. Great photos, Too cold up here for much birding until spring
    Gerry

  2. Nice one! Can’t wait to see what else you find in your area!

  3. searunner says:

    These are really nice. You’ve caught all these birds in the act of being birds.

    http://searunner.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

