Boston … Harvard Minerological Museum

Theresa and Laura at the Harvard Yard.

Theresa and Laura at the Harvard Yard.

The main purpose of my trip North was visiting my daughter Theresa and her partner Laura.  Theresa started a new job since the last time I visited so I was excited to get to see her new and exciting work location at Harvard.  She is a curator at the Harvard Mineralogical and Geological Museum and it truly is an amazing place to visit.

Just one of the hundreds of cases of minerals on display!

Just one of the hundreds of cases of minerals on display!

I have been a collector all my life … from stamps and coins to fossils and rocks, I’ve collected it at some point.  Having spent a good deal of my teens collecting fossils I was excited to visit the museum.  I don’t know if there is an adequate way to describe just how AWESOMELY COOL the museum is and my pictures don’t even begin to scratch the surface of the many wonders there … well worth a visit if you are ever in Boston.

Watch the amazing transformation under UV light.

Watch the amazing transformation under UV light

FLORESCENT-ROCK-10-11-2013- (2)

Another amazing example of what is hidden in these rocks!

Another amazing example of what is hidden in these rocks!

Amazing!

Amazing!

There were so many amazing formations!

MINERAL-FORMATION-10-11-201

IMG_5781

RED-MINERAL-FORMATION-10-11

After visiting the rest of the Natural History Museum we walked around Harvard and had lunch.  We then drove over to Mount Auburn Cemetery.  I know what you may be thinking a cemetery … but Mount Auburn is so, so much more.  It really is more of an arboretum and many of the mausoleums and tomb stones are amazing to see as well.

We walked around in beautiful early fall weather for a good couple of hours and while we did see a few birds here and there it really was more about just taking in the amazing beauty of the place.  I did get my obligatory Chipmunk picture and one of a Red-tailed Hawk finishing off his lunch.

Chipmonk ... I can't go up North without taking a couple of shots of these little cuties!

Chipmunk … I can’t go up North without taking a couple of shots of these little cuties!

Red-tailed Hawk ... He wasn't eating a Chipmonk!

Red-tailed Hawk … He wasn’t eating a chipmunk!

Another very cool thing we saw was this Hornets nest.  I remember seeing them while growing up in Ohio and it always thrills me to see them and to think of the work that goes into building one of these nests.

Hornet's Nest

Hornet’s Nest

The next day we visited Halibut Point State Park near Gloucester and it was another one of the WOW birding moments for me on this trip.  I’ll post again soon and as always thank you so much for visiting!!!

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Flowers, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Boston … Harvard Minerological Museum

  1. Kathy Walters says:

    If I ever get to Boston Mount Auburn Cemetary is one place I want to visit. I was in Huntsville, AL early in the month and visited their Maple Hill Cemetary which is full of shadey trees. We say a wonderful pair of Red Tailed Hawks there. Thanks for bringing back that memory.

  2. Great shots! Looks like an amazing place to spend an afternoon (museum). Love the outdoor shots as well. You know…. I just ran across your post, but I thought I got automatic notifications. Anyways, I’ll try to be on the lookout. 🙂

Leave a Reply

