Green Cay Wetlands … Slow Birding

The last couple of weeks have been quite slow around the wetlands.  The weather in South Florida is the key factor in the quality of our migration and unfortunately for us humans we really haven’t had much in the way of fronts or storms to alter the birds migration.  While this makes for very slow birding it is probably a great thing for the migrants as they have one less thing to worry about as they migrate to their Southern homes.

Even if there are relatively few migrants around a trip to Green Cay Wetlands can usually provide a couple of photo opportunities.  I went out yesterday evening and managed a couple of OK shots.

Anhinga

Anhinga

This guy greeted me as I entered the wetlands.  They sit in the same roosts fairly regularly so are very good subjects to shoot!

Black-crowned Night Heron ... First year bird.

Black-crowned Night Heron … First year bird.

I saw this young Night Heron flying in and managed a couple of nice in flight shots but I liked his landing the best.  He’d get a 10 out of 10 as he nailed it!!

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

It always amazes me at the size of some of the fish that the Great Blue Herons can actually swallow.  This guy didn’t have too much problem and after 5 minutes or so he flipped the fish so it would go down head first and with one big gulp … gone!

Scarlet Darter

Scarlet Darter

Hey it has wings!!!

Cuban Tree Frog

Cuban Tree Frog

The Boy Scouts or someone built a couple of “Butterfly” boxes and placed them around the property.  So far I’ve only seen Anoles and Frogs utilizing them but I guess we’ll have to wait and see what happens.

Hopefully we will soon get a good cold front to push some migrants our way or the next thing we’ll be looking for are the Ducks!!  A few of our Winter residents are already back.  In the last week American Bittern, Belted Kingfisher and Pied Billed Grebes have been seen around GC.

Thank you so much for visiting and God Bless!!

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Insects, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Cay Wetlands … Slow Birding

  1. Honey – the Cuban tree frog is my favorite – and I also love the way you photographed that anhinga – such a handsome looking anhinga – I didn’t know grebes were back….Love, your wife

  2. AMAZING great blue heron shot! I am originally from PBG and your blog makes me so homesick for the wildlife that sparked my loved for animals all over the world! Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

