Just In Case

Just in case you thought I have completely stopped birding in Palm Beach County let me assure you that while I have slowed down some this Summer I still have managed to get out a couple of times a week.  I really had not taken the memory card out of my camera for a month or so, so imagine my surprise when I found quite a few usable images!  90% of these shots are from Green Cay Wetlands, my home patch, with a few coming from the sod fields in Western Palm Beach County.  I’ll let the pictures pretty much speak for themselves today!!

White-winged Dove ... We tend to ignore Doves in general but this guy sure is stunning!

White-winged Dove … We tend to ignore Doves in general but this guy sure is stunning!

Wood Stork

Green Heron

Green Heron

Purple Galinule ... It's amazing that in a month or two's time he will be incredibly colorful!!!

Purple Galinule … It’s amazing that in a month or two’s time he will be incredibly colorful!!!

Here are a few from the sod fields in the Western part of the county.

Roseate Spoonbill ... Another morning sunbather.

Stilt Sandpipers ... These are one of the early shorebird migrants but I hope to find more variety on Tuesday or Wednsday.

Stilt Sandpipers … These are one of the early shorebird migrants but I hope to find more variety on Tuesday or Wednesday.

Common Yellowthroat ... This guy is a very odd plumage not shown in any of the field guides.

Common Yellowthroat … This guy is a very odd plumage not shown in any of the field guides.

A couple more …

Common Grackle ... Still lots of noisy kids around!

Common Grackle … Still lots of noisy kids around!

Cattle Egret ... more babies.

Cattle Egret … more babies.

Black-bellied Whistling Duck

Black-bellied Whistling Duck

Black and White Warbler ... Saw this guy on the 28th of July with a Praire Warbler and an American Redstart.  Warbler migration is on!!

Black and White Warbler … Saw this guy on the 28th of July with a Praire Warbler and an American Redstart. Warbler migration is on!!

Yellow-throated Warbler ... He was chasing me around the parking lot this morning at GC!!

Yellow-throated Warbler … He was chasing me around the parking lot this morning at GC!!

And lest you think it’s only about the birds…

Pig Frog ... I do look at and take photo's of more than just the boirds!!

Pig Frog … I do look at and take photo’s of more than just the boirds!!

I hope that wasn’t picture over-load!  I still have a few more posts from California that I will get to and now that migration is ramping up I will be in the field a little more and will keep you posted of the going ons in Palm Beach County!

Thank you so much for the visit!!!

