2011 Northern California … Part 10

Wow, when I started the postings of this trip I never imagined I’d have written this much. Every time I look at another set of pictures it brings back such vivid, strong and wonderful memories of the trip.  I hope you stay with me as it’s almost wrapped up, maybe 3 or 4 more posts should do it!!

I don’t mention it that often but if you click on any picture it will give you the option to make it bigger and some of these landscapes do look way better full screen!!!

Patrick's Point State Park

Patrick’s Point State Park

After another good nights sleep I headed over to Patrick’s Point State Park.   This turned out to be another fabulous place that I truly look forward to visiting again. The view above is from right where the path starts that leads down to the beach.  It is a good haul down to the beach but the path was so well maintained it wasn’t to difficult.

Patrick's Point State Park ... People looking for Agates.

Patrick’s Point State Park … People looking for Agates.

I arrived at the park and was on the beach before sunrise. I was surprised to find a dozen people had already beat me there.  I thought wow, this is great there must be tons of good birds around because generally only birders get up this early.  Unfortunately, I soon found out all these people were just looking for rocks!  Agates to be exact.  Agates are a semi-precious stone and I found out that this park is one of the best places to find them and that people come from all over the world to come to this beach and hunt for them.

Common Murre ... I'd see many more of these later in the week on the Pelagic trips I took!

Common Murre … I’d see many more of these later in the week on the Pelagic trips I took!

Red-throated Loon ... This is the kind of shot you get in foggy conditions, but hey it was a lifer!!

Red-throated Loon … This is the kind of shot you get in foggy conditions, but hey it was a lifer!!

It took a little while before the fog started moving out and birding was slow to start but I did see many gulls some Western Grebes, Harlequin Ducks, Surf Scoters a Red-throated Loon (L) and my first Common Murres (L).  I saw the first of many Sea Lions and Seals that I’d see while driving along the coast.

Sea Lions playing in the surf!

Sea Lions playing in the surf!

White-spotted Seals

White-spotted Seals

I spent a good amount of time taking pictures of the Gulls as there were many of all ages and plumages and this will give me good study material when I get around to organizing it.  I did wander/walk quite aways in both directions from where the trail came down and was happy I headed South as I found a pair of Wandering Tattlers (L) on one of the many rock outcroppings.

Wandering Tattler

Wandering Tattler

I was getting hungry so around noon I made the long climb back up.  I ate my sandwich and walked around the campgrounds and nearby trails for an hour or so.  I saw Steller’s Jays, American Crows, Bushtit (L) and Chestnut-backed Chickadee (L). I’m sure there were a few more species that I don’t recall and I look forward to some day being able to spend a couple of days exploring this park.

Chestnut-backed Chickadee

Chestnut-backed Chickadee

Bushtit

Bushtit

One of the trails I was on brought me back towards the Pacific and the sun decided to sneak out so I’ll leave you today with a shot of the ocean and one of a sea stack!

Patrick Point State Park

Patrick Point State Park

Patrick Point State Park ... This sea stack is enormous ... look at the birds perched on top!!

Patrick Point State Park … This sea stack is enormous … look at the birds perched on top!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2011 Northern California … Part 10

  1. What a beautiful place, your bird shots are gorgeous and the scenery stunning, thanks for sharing your world i enjoyed the journey

  2. controversialcricket says:

    WOW My husband and I always talk about one day going to California, but for now we are stuck here in Georgia. So thank you so much for sharing. your images are breathtaking!

Leave a Reply

