June Challenge Wrapup

The June Challenge is a friendly competition thats main purpose is to get birders out in the month of June when its hot and sticky and most of the birds have fled the state for cooler climates in which to breed and raise their young.  This was my 3rd year doing the challenge and sometimes it really is a challenge to leave the house at 6:30 AM when it is already 80 degrees and 95% humidity.  I think I managed to bird about half the days in June but many of those trips were quickies looking for individual species for the list.

Eastern Towhee

Eastern Towhee

Last year I had seen and photographed 94 species so this year I had set a goal of photographing 100 but … I didn’t quite make it and I ended up the Month with 98!  There were many highlights including finally being able to coax out this Eastern Towhee at the Pond Hawk Natural Area on the next to last day.  This is one of the counties newer locations having just opened up last year and I think is has some great potential as it gets birded more and more.

Gull-billed Tern

Gull-billed Tern

One surprise when looking back at last years list is that I actually photgraphed 11 species that I didn’t get this year and 2 years ago I had a couple more different so the potential for the county is quite a bit higher than even my goal of 100.  I’m not sure what the county total ended up this year but I know of a few species that I missed that others saw.

King Rail

King Rail

A few more highlights this month included seeing a few species that I hadn’t seen yet this year anywhere in the State including this lovely King Rail.  King Rails are fairly reclusive birds and there just are not that many of them in the county so it takes a special effort to find one.

Gray Kingbird

Gray Kingbird

Black-necked Stilts

Black-necked Stilts … If you look close you can see two more sets of legs under Momma!

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

I am very happy I participated again this year and hopefully with a better plan next year I’ll break the 100 barrier.  Not only did I get to see a lot of really cool birds but I helped to confirm a new/recent county record of the Tufted Titmouse.

July will be a fairly quiet month until towards the end when the migrant shorebirds will start showing up.  Like I said in an earlier post I am going to share a series of posts on a trip I took to California a couple of months before I started blogging last year.

Thank you all for stopping by and God Bless!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to June Challenge Wrapup

  1. Phillip says:

    Ah the king rail. I remember one of the first times we went to green kay we barely spotted one.

  2. Wonderful captures, especially love the yellow-crowned night heron and the black-necked stilt chicks are so adorable I do see the other little legs under momma! 🙂

  3. Lee says:

    Great photos and a nice catch of the King Rail. Not seen one yet up here in Polk county.

  4. Terri Smith says:

    I agree with Phillip – ahh – fantastic photo of this gorgeous King Rail! another printable 1

Leave a Reply

