June Challenge … Week Three Additions

I didn’t bird much during the week but managed a little time out on my weekend and picked up a few nice birds.  Last weekend I traveled to the North portion of the county.  Tuesday and Wednesday I decided to travel out to the Western part of the county to check out the agricultural fields and to visit around Lake Okeechobee.  It’s a little early for the returning migrant shorebirds but I did find a few nicely flooded fields and hopefully a few early birds will show up next weekend.

Barn Owl

Barn Owl

The good thing about having done a big year last year  in the county is I found some good spots where I know birds roost making finding certain species a little easier.  The Barn Owl is a perfect example and I was successful in the first spot I looked.  These guys are pretty hard to get pictures of as they usually do nothing but fly straight away from you when they flush but this one decided that I wasn’t that much of a threat and returned to his roost allowing me a couple of OK shots!

Orchard Oriole

Orchard Oriole

Another, all most sure thing, is the Orchard Oriole.  There have been a couple that have returned for a number of years to the same campground over by Lake Okeechobee and this guy was easy to find as he was constantly singing.

Cliff Swallow

Cliff Swallow

One more easy find were the Cliff Swallows I found.  They have used the same bridge each Summer for a couple of years making them another almost sure thing.  I was very pleased to be blessed with a nice sunny morning because these speed demons are tough enough to capture in even the best lighting conditions!

Common Nighthawk

Common Nighthawk

One of our regular Summer visitors is the Common Nighthawk.  These guys rest all day long and feed at night and you can’t drive more than a couple of miles in the Western part of the county without seeing one on a power line dosing.

River Otter

River Otter

Just like last week I had a wonderful Mammal encounter.  I was riding my bike way back on a very seldom used dirt road and this guy came loping along for a couple of hundred yards before finally seeing me and going into the canal that paralleled the road.

I managed to pick up 9 new species during the week so I am now at 85.  I know I’ll easily get into the 90’s and still have a little hope that I can reach my goal of a hundred. Thank you so very, very much for following my blog and God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to June Challenge … Week Three Additions

  1. Kathy Walters says:

    Great finds with great pictures!

  2. Susan Young says:

    Love the Barn Owl photo….amazing! Just saw one for the first time ever at Wellington preserve and looked just like your photo…thanks!

Leave a Reply

