New June Challenge Birds

The past week has seen me visiting several different locations looking for new birds to photograph for June.  The last two days I visited two of Palm Beach Counties better Northern locations.  Tuesday I went to J. W Corbett WMA and today I went up to Riverbend Park in Jupiter.

Wild Turkey ... She was feeding with a couple of others and decided to just lie down!

Wild Turkey … She was feeding with a couple of others and decided to just lie down!

Palm Beach County is a very large County and there is a remarkable difference in what birds are in the North compared to what’s in the South.  If you want to have a large list for the County the only way to see some of the species, like the Wild Turkey is to travel and go to where the birds are!

Tufted Titmouse ... This is the 255th species I've photographed in Palm Beach County!!

Tufted Titmouse … This is the 255th species I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County!!

Today at Riverbend I actually found a new bird for my County list.  Like I’ve mentioned before it’s a rare occurrence to add a new bird to the list and today’s bird was one that according to one the better Palm Beach County birders I know has not been seen in the County for a number of decades.  The Tufted Titmouse isn’t really that tough of a species to find in Florida but PBC just does not have the proper habitat so hopefully this guy is a scout and he’ll go back and tell his buddies that it’s an OK  to come hang out at Riverbend!

Pine Warbler

Pine Warbler

Northern Parula

Northern Parula

Warbler’s are hard to find this time of the year.  Most have gone far to the North so I have to work hard to find the few who remain.  Yesterday at Corbett I found a nice flock of 6-8 Pine Warblers and today I found a few Northern Parulas.  The only other Warbler I expect to find this month is the Common Yellowthroat.

Northern Flicker ... The one on the right was being fed by what I assume is his mother on the left ... biggest baby I've ever seen!!

Northern Flicker … The one on the right was being fed by what I assume is his mother on the left … biggest baby I’ve ever seen!!

Pileated Woodpecker ... The Woody-wood Pecker of Woodpeckers!

Pileated Woodpecker … The Woody-wood Pecker of Woodpeckers!

PBC has 8 possible species of Woodpeckers of which 6 are possible in June.  The last couple of days I’ve found Northern Flicker and Pileated Woodpeckers and with the Red-bellied and Downy I found at the beginning of the month puts me 2/3rds of the way there.  I hope to still find a Red-headed and if I’m super lucky maybe a Red-cockaded.

Here’s a few more from the last week!

Great-crested Flycatcher

Great-crested Flycatcher

Wood Duck ... What a handsome fellow!

Wood Duck … What a handsome fellow!

Common Peafowl ... While not ABA countable it is for the June Challenge.  Actually these guys have been breeding at this location for over 30 years and meet all the requirements to be counted!!!

Common Peafowl … While not ABA countable it is for the June Challenge. Actually these guys have been breeding at this location for over 30 years and meet all the requirements to be counted!!!

White-tailed Deer ... One of the other benifits of visiting the Northern part of the county is the opportunity to see these beauties.  I saw at least a dozen the last two days.

White-tailed Deer … One of the other benefits of visiting the Northern part of the county is the opportunity to see these beauties. I saw at least a dozen the last two days.

I’m currently at 76 species photographed this month.  I have a few more “easy” ones and then it will take some work.  I only have 2 more weekends (Tuesday and Wednesday for me) and will definitely try to get out West where I can pick up a half-dozen species and I still need a few beach birds so 100 is not out of the question so wish me continued success and as ALWAYS thank you so much for following my exploits!!!

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New June Challenge Birds

  1. I am quite envious of the birds you spotted and photographed in Riverbend. That is my go to place. I am fairly new to birding, and the little birds are quite a challenge to spot and ID correctly (for me). Though I know I have never seen a Tufted Titmouse there- I am going to look harder!!!! 🙂 Thank you for giving me a visual idea of what else to look for.

Leave a Reply

