Three Lakes Wildlife Management Area

Spring migration has finally come to its conclusion for us so yesterday I decided to travel a little North to see if I could find a few species that just can’t be found in Palm Beach County, or at least not very easily found.  Three Lakes WMA is only about a two-hour drive North but is one of Florida’s easiest places to see some rarities like Bachman’s Sparrow and Red-cockaded Woodpecker.  I ended up having a wonderful day seeing all of the species I was hoping to see and managed a few decent pictures of a few others

You can click on any picture to optimize it for your monitor!

Bachman's Sparrow

Bachman’s Sparrow

I’ve never had such an easy time finding Bachman’s Sparrows.  I saw a half a dozen of them and each one had food in its mouth.  I’m not sure if they were feeding young or it’s part of their courtship behaviour.

Red-cockaded Woodpecker

Red-cockaded Woodpecker

The Red-cockaded Woodpecker is one of the most habitat restricted Woodpeckers we have.  They are fairly rare and can only be found in the Southeastern US in mature pine forests.  Florida has done a great job of helping them hold on and expand their range with monitoring and releasing new groups in areas that can sustain a population.

Northern Bobwhite

Northern Bobwhite

The Northern Bobwhite Quail is another bird I’ve had a hard time photographing.  I bet I heard a dozen of these guys calling all morning and never even got a glimpse of one until just as I was leaving I found this one who seemed to be resting on this log as it allowed me to approach relatively closely before becoming alerted to me.

A few more good birds seen yesterday!

Swallowtail Kite ... I haven't taken many top-side picks of these guys!

Swallowtail Kite … I haven’t taken many top-side picks of these guys!

Tufted Titmouse

Tufted Titmouse

Eastern Bluebird

Eastern Bluebird

And as always I want to thank you SOOOOO much for visiting my humble little blog and I do appreciate all of your comments.  Sunday I’m going on my first Pelagic in a couple of years and hope to get some cool pictures of our ocean-going friends!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three Lakes Wildlife Management Area

  1. Kathy says:

    Wonderful. It has been many years since I visited this area. It is great to see it again.

Leave a Reply

