Wrapping Up Migration

The migration in Florida is slowly winding down.  When we start to see Blackpoll Warblers we know the end is near as they are one of the last migrants.  When Connecticut Warblers start showing up we know it is the end as they are the last of the Neo-tropical Migrants.  I’m going to be looking very hard for a Connecticut as that would be a lifer for me … so wish me a little luck!

Yellow-billed Cuckoo ... A very nice surprise!

Yellow-billed Cuckoo … A very nice surprise at the Ranger Station in Fort De Soto!

This past week I went to Fort De Soto when the forecast called for a “Cold” front to come through.  This can often lead to a fallout and even this late in the season I thought I might get lucky … alas the front didn’t make it quite far enough South  and while I did have a wonderful day it certainly was not a “fallout”. I did accumulate a very nice day list in the seventies and added a few new year birds including the above Cuckoo. 

Black-whiskered Vireo ... This is an unusual species this far North!

Black-whiskered Vireo … This is an unusual species this far North!

 

One of the better birds of the day was a Black-whiskered Vireo.  This is a species usually seen only in the extreme Southern part of the State and I was happy that it was still hanging out after being there for a week and I was even happier that he posed for me!

There were not a ton of Warblers around but I did manage a couple of pleasing shots of a few.

Blackpoll Warbler

Blackpoll Warbler

Praire Warbler

Praire Warbler

 

American Redstart ... I actually took this one the next day at Green Cay Wetlands but had a similar one from the Fort.

American Redstart … I actually took this one the next day at Green Cay Wetlands but had a similar one from the Fort.

There were quite a few shorebirds around and one new one for the year was this Wilson’s Plover.  I also have started taking video with my DSLR and hopefully soon I will figure out how to upload it to either here or at least a link to utube, flickr or similar. 

Wilson's Plover

Wilson’s Plover

Some species are difficult to get a good picture of due to either their choice of habitat or the fact that they are very flighty and will not allow for a close enough approach.  On Tuesday I had wandered up the East Beach Woods area and walked in a path I hadn’t seen before and  I found a little canal where there was a Northern Waterthrush.  I sat down for about half an hour watching it do its stuff when right above my head a Common Ground Dove flew in.  This is one of the really flighty species so I was thrilled to get really, really close for some pictures.  The sunlight was very harsh as it was about 1pm but I liked the results anyways.

Common Ground Dove

Common Ground Dove

I have a few more shots that I will try and get them on tomorrow.  Another of the really cool features at Fort De Soto is the Fountain near the Rangers House.  It is a major attractant for not only the freshly landed migrants but for many of the locals to … until then thank you so much for visiting!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wrapping Up Migration

  1. Jamie@Swamped says:

    I would so love to see a Cuckoo! I guess they show up around here from time to time, but I’ve never had the luck of seeing one. Good luck with the Connecticut!

Leave a Reply

