Pretty in Pink

Yesterday afternoon I took a stroll around Green Cay Wetlands to see if any migrants were around and I was lucky to find one tree that contained five species of Warblers and a Summer Tanager.  Migration has been pretty slow and I was thankful to have the activity I did. 

Roseate Spoonbill coming in for a bath!

Roseate Spoonbill coming in for a bath!

Once I tired of the little guys I wandered on and ran into a nice group of Roseate Spoonbills that were resting and taking baths … here are a few pictures that show a little of what was going on.

Roseate Spoonbill ... Making sure it is totaly drenched.

Roseate Spoonbill … Making sure it is totally drenched.

The Spoonie had a White Ibis partner for a little bit!

The Spoonie had a White Ibis partner for a little bit!

 

Roseate Spoonbill ... After bathing stretch!

Roseate Spoonbill … After bathing stretch!

Group Stretch!

Group bathing!

 

Party crashers!

Party crashers!

This was one of those events where pictures can not even begin to express what the eye was actually seeing.  There were 25 plus Spoonbills along with Woodstorks, Great Egrets, Ibis and Snowy Egrets all bathing and preening.  Safety in numbers at it’s best.

Thank you so much for stopping by and God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pretty in Pink

  1. paunikaj says:

    I love it! Great way to start my day. With Nature! Living in NYC(Bricks) can be overloading and stressful. So, This helps me begin my day, as balanced as possible. Thanks for sharing!

  2. dinajohnston says:

    So many beautiful shots! Great action of the spoonies.

  3. Kathy Walters says:

    Wonderful shots of special birds. Thanks!

  4. limeybirder says:

    Love the picture of the spoonbill bathing. Great action shot.

  5. Wonderful photos, you continue to grab my attention. Well done
    Gerry

Leave a Reply

