Two Wonderful Western Visitors

A week or so ago while doing my B-Day Big Day I had heard a report of Western Kingbirds and Scissortail Flycatchers West of Boca Raton at the Daggerwing Nature Center.  I looked that day but came up empty and kept meaning to get out and look again and finally found time on Wednesday and all I came say is WOW!!!

Scissortail Flycatcher and Western Kingbird ... I would have been happy to see just one of these guys but to get two in one frame ... priceless!

Scissortail Flycatcher and Western Kingbird … I would have been happy to see just one of these guys but to get two in one frame … priceless!

Scissortail Flycatchers and Western Kingbirds are both species that do not occur regularly in South Florida.  There seems to be some around every Winter but their numbers and range are very limited, mostly to the extreme South near Everglades National Park.

Scissortail Flycatcher ... An amazingly elegant species!

Scissortail Flycatcher … An amazingly elegant species!

I arrived at Daggerwing just after 3 PM and boy was it hot … hot and muggy.  I walked to the end of the boardwalk and ran into a good birding friend Jake.  Jake was one of the first to see the birds and had seen them a couple of times in the last week but because they are such great birds he was looking for a few more good photo ops. 

Western Kingbird ... There were actually four of them around.

Western Kingbird … There were actually four of these guys around.

Both these species were new birds for me in Palm Beach County.  I believe these guys will be migrating soon and I feel very blessed to have seen them.  Here are a few of the other migrants I’ve seen recently!

Black-throated Blue Warbler

Black-throated Blue Warbler

Black-throated Green Warbler

Black-throated Green Warbler

 

Yellow-throated Warbler

Yellow-throated Warbler

Eastern Wood Pewee

Eastern Wood Pewee

 

Acadian Flycatcher ... David Sibley has an excellent article on his web site about the Eastern Flycatchers and the when and where you should expect to find the various species.

Acadian Flycatcher … David Sibley has an excellent article on his web site about the Eastern Flycatchers and the when and where you should expect to find the various species.

Last night we had a little rain and this morning while birding Green Cay Wetlands Linda and I managed to find 10 species of Warblers with the best being a nice male Blackpoll Warbler.  There is a stationary front that may slip South creating better conditions for us in the next couple of days so I hope to see a few more species.

Thank you so much as always for following my blog and I hope that I can continue to provide a small look into God’s wonderful, wonderful world … at least my little corner of it!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Wonderful Western Visitors

  1. westerner54 says:

    Both of them together definitely deserves a big WOW! Thanks for sharing.

  2. fozziemum says:

    How exciting for you,and what beautiful pictures 🙂

  3. limeybirder says:

    How lucky to get a picture of those two tyrannids! Wonderful shot

Leave a Reply

