Spanish River Park … A Tale of Two Parks !

A couple of days ago I was checking out the local Bird Boards and noticed that Spanish River Park in Boca Raton had a few very nice migrants around.  I decided I might get lucky and the birds would remain for morning and I sure was glad I made a visit.  I managed to get two new County birds and a nice series of a Prothonotary Warbler.

Black-whiskered Vireo ... The black lines on his chin right below the eye is the key field mark for this guy.

Black-whiskered Vireo … The black lines on his chin right below the eye is the key field mark for this guy.

The Black-whiskered Vireo is a bird I had only seen on the Dry Tortugas and was thrilled to find a couple at the park.  This bird is very, very similar to the Red-eyed Vireo but has a pair of dark lines on its throat where the Red-eyes throat is plain.  This is a really good bird for my County list.

Swainson's Warbler .... This guy was about 10 inches off the ground and jumped when my flash went off.

Swainson’s Warbler …. This guy was about 10 inches off the ground and jumped when my flash went off.

The second bird I added was one I saw at the same park last year but never managed a photo.  The Swainson’s  Warbler is one of the tougher Warblers to photograph as they like to stay deep in the woods and usually on the ground.  New County birds are becoming hard to come by so finding two on one day was fabulous!

Prothonotary Warbler ... I used this shot to show off his unusual Orange head feathers.

Prothonotary Warbler … I used this shot to show off his unusual Orange head feathers.

The Prothonotary Warbler is one of our brightest Warblers.  The Yellow on this guy when the sun shines on him is incredible.  In the last couple of weeks there has been some chatter on the local Birding Boards about the Orange crowns on some of the recent arrivals.  When you look in the field guides they really don’t show this feature and a Google search has similar results.  Personally I think it makes him look pretty cool!!

Purple Swamphen

Purple Swamphen

A good find at Green Cay this past week was the now ABA countable Purple Swamphen.  A couple of months a go there was a pair at GC but they disappeared so I was happy to see this guy and he was much closer than the ones from before.

Least Bitterns

Least Bitterns

I thought this was a pretty cool picture to.  It shows both the male and female Least Bittern.  The male is in the front and has the Black back.

The title says a tale of two parks so let me explain.  Today I went to the car dealer to have the oil changed in my SUV.  I took my bike and road the 5-6 miles up to Spanish River hoping to see some of the birds from three days ago.   Well let me tell you I was skunked … zero, nada, zilch … not one Warbler or Vireo or Hawk or anything besides a couple of Cardinals and a few Catbirds.  Now I love the beautiful Cardinal but I sure was disappointed that everyone had headed North … I guess I should be happy about the exercise!!!

Tomorrow is my B-day and like last year I am going to bird all day and see how many species I can come up with in the county!   I hope a few more Warblers show up over night … but I know I’ll have a blast one way or the other!  Thank you all so much for stopping by!!!

 

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spanish River Park … A Tale of Two Parks !

  1. Susan Young says:

    Happy Birding Birthday tomorrow Tom. Check out Daggerwing….yesterday I saw Western Kingbirds and two Scissortail Flycatchers!

  2. Kathy Walters says:

    Tom, it was so nice to run into you at Spanish River Park. I came looking specifically to see if you were able to capture a picture of that beautiful Prothonotary. I am so glad you did!

Leave a Reply

